clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Boca Juniors, Joan Gamper Trophy: Team News, Match Preview

New, comments

The first match at Camp Nou gives Barça one last chance to give us good signs for the new season

AC Milan v FC Barcelona - International Champions Cup 2018 Photo by Lachlan Cunningham/Getty Images

FC Barcelona vs Boca Juniors


Competition: Joan Gamper Trophy

Barcelona team news: Denis Suarez, Carles Aleñá (out, injury)

Boca Juniors team news: None

Date/Time: Wednesday, August 15, 2018, 6.15pm CET (Barcelona), 5.15pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 12.15pm ET, 9.15am PT (USA), 9.45pm IST (India)

Venue: Camp Nou, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

How to watch on TV: Antena 3 (Spain), others

How to stream: Check listings on LiveSoccerTV


The new season is right around the corner, but Barcelona have one last friendly to play and it’s a big one: the Joan Gamper Trophy, the match that serves as the opener of the season at the Camp Nou. Barça also invite some good teams from around the world to have a fun 90 minutes of football, and this year they got a very good one: Boca Juniors, the Argentine champions, will visit the greatest stadium on Earth for what should be a great game.

The result really doesn’t matter here. This is really to present the squad to the Camp Nou crowd and have fun on the pitch. However, Barça usually play pretty well in these games to give a good show to their home fans. It’s also one last chance to improve the players’ fitness before the real season begins this weekend. The entire squad is expected to play, plus some Barça B boys, so this should be a fun game.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Barcelona (4-4-2): Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Dembélé, Rakitic, Busquets, Coutinho; Messi, Suárez

Boca Juniors (4-3-3): Andrada; Jara, Goltz, Magallán, Mas; Nández, Barrios, Pérez; Pavón, Ábila, Zárate


PREDICTION

This is usually a pretty good performance from Barça, so I’ll go with a strong 4-1 win here. But again, THE RESULT DOESN’T MATTER.