clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona squad named for Joan Gamper Trophy match against Boca Juniors

New, comments

It’s the first match at Camp Nou this season, so expect the entire squad for this one!

Barcelona v Real Sociedad - La Liga Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana play their first match of the season at Camp Nou, the annual Joan Gamper Trophy friendly, which this year will be played against Argentine champions Boca Juniors.

Since this is the game where the squad is presented to the fans, it’s no wonder that Ernesto Valverde will have all of his first team players in the stadium. If you don’t know already, this is the first team squad:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 15. Clément Lenglet, 18. Jordi Alba, 23. Samuel Umtiti, 24. Thomas Vermaelen, 27. Miranda (Barça B)

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 7. Philippe Coutinho, 8. Arthur, 12. Rafinha Alcântara, 20. Sergi Roberto, 22. Arturo Vidal, 28. Riqui Puig (Barça B), Carles Aleñá, Sergi Samper

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 14. Malcom, 17. Paco Alcácer, 19. Munir


With Marlon most likely on his way out to either Germany or Italy, it’s hard to expect the Brazilian to be involved here at all. As for the absentees, it’s Denis Suarez and Aleñá who are still injured. Sergi Samper is technically available, but having just returned from injury it’s hard to see the midfielder playing this one.

Predicted starting lineup (4-4-2):

Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Dembélé, Rakitic, Busquets, Coutinho; Messi, Suárez


The match kicks off at 6.15pm CET (Barcelona), 5.15pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 12.15pm ET, 9.15am PT (USA), 9.45pm IST (India), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!