clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Milan vs Barcelona, International Champions Cup: Team News, Preview, Predictions

New, comments

Barça finish their United States tour with another tough Italian opponent

Soccer: International Champions Cup-FC Barcelona at AS Roma Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

AC Milan (1pt, 2 matches) vs FC Barcelona (2pts, 2 matches)


Competition: International Champions Cup

Barcelona team news: Carles Aleñá, Denis Suarez, André Gomes (out, injury), Gerard Piqué, Samuel Umtiti, Yerry Mina, Thomas Vermaelen, Jordi Alba, Sergio Busquets, Sergi Samper, Ivan Rakitić, Philippe Coutinho, Ousmane Dembélé, Lionel Messi, Luis Suárez (not on tour squad)

Milan team news: None

Date/Time: Saturday, August 4, 2018, 8.05pm EST, 5.05pm PST (USA), 2.05am CET (Barcelona, Wednesday), 1.05am BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria, Wednesday), 5.35am IST (India, Wednesday)

Venue: Levi’s Stadium, Santa Clara, California, United States


The third and final match of the United States tour sees Barcelona face AC Milan at the Levi’s Stadium in their final game in this year’s International Champions Cup. Barça actually came close to winning this “competition” last year, but didn’t. This time they won’t even have a shot, but it really does not matter.

What does matter is how amazing the first team players who were in action for about 90 minutes combined in the first two games played. Ernesto Valverde gave his team a real shot at playing the 4-3-3 formation again, and both Arthur and Rafinha have had monster starts to their preseason. The two are looking like locks to start the Spanish Supercup against Sevilla next week, and another very good performance from the duo on Saturday will go a long way in ensuring that.

As for Milan, there’s a very interesting player to watch: Alen Halilovic, the former Barça wonderkid who has had some tough years since leaving Camp Nou but has earned another shot to play for a giant Europen club. Let’s see how good he look against some of his former teammates.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Barcelona (4-3-3): Cillessen; Semedo, Marlon, Lenglet, Cucurella; Rafinha, Roberto, Arthur; Malcom, Alcácer, Munir

Milan (4-3-3): Donnarumma; Abate, Musacchio, Romagnoli, Calabria; Kessié, Locatelli, Bertolacci; Suso, Cutrone, Çalhanoglu


PREDICTION

We already know the script for this preseason: first team puts on a show in the first half, Barça B youngsters suffer quite a lot in the second half against stronger opposition. Maybe Valverde gives his first teamers something like 60-70 minutes, so maybe we might hold a lead for once: 3-1 Barça.