clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona announce squad for UEFA Champions League debut against PSV Eindhoven

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players for the European season opener

FC Barcelona v Boca Juniors - Joan Gamper Trophy Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana make their European debut when they welcome PSV Eindhoven to the Camp Nou for the first UEFA Champions League match of the new season.

Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players to be in uniform on Tuesday night, and here they are:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 15. Clément Lenglet, 18. Jordi Alba, 23. Samuel Umtiti

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 7. Philippe Coutinho, 8. Arthur, 12. Rafinha, 20. Sergi Roberto, 22. Arturo Vidal

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 19. Munir


After rotating his squad and his team against Real Sociedad, Valverde goes back to the players he selected over the first month of the season, which means Brazilian midfielder Arthur will be in uniform. Malcom and Sergi Samper are getting close, but still can’t be involved due to injury. Denis Suarez, Carles Aleñá and Thomas Vermaelen miss out per the manager’s choice.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Rakitic, Busquets, Coutinho; Messi, Suárez, Dembélé


The match kicks off at 6.55pm CET (Barcelona), 5.55pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 12.55pm ET, 9.55am PT (USA), 10.25pm IST (India), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!