clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs PSV live blog, updates: Messi hat-trick gives Barça great European debut win

New, comments

Follow along as Barça begin a new European journey!

FC Barcelona v AS Roma - UEFA Champions League Quarter Final Leg One Photo by Stuart Franklin/Getty Images

FULL-TIME, Barcelona 4-0 PSV: Barça had some poor moments at the back, but were very good with the ball and fully deserved the victory. Four awesome goals, big win to start the European season with a bang. Well done, boys!


GOAL!!! Barcelona 4-0 PSV (Messi 87’): It’s a hat-trick for the GOAT! Luis Suárez assists Messi who gets in behind the defense and scores his third on night.


GOAL!!!! Barcelona 3-0 PSV (Messi 77’): IT’S THREE FOR BARÇA! Ivan Rakitic gets a brilliant assist with a gorgeous chip over the defense and Messi scores a beautiful volley to truly kill the match.


GOLAZOOOO!!!! Barcelona 2-0 PSV (Dembélé 74’): WHAT A WAY TO DOUBLE THE LEAD!!! Ousmane Dembélé makes an incredible turn to get away from two defenders, shifts the ball onto his right foot and fires a rocket to score a sensational goal!!! The win is in the bag now.


SECOND HALF KICKOFF! Barcelona 1-0 PSV: The last few minutes of the first half were very good. Let’s build on that and secure this win, boys!


HALFTIME, Barcelona 1-0 PSV: Barça dominated possession, and apart from one or two occasions where Hirving Lozano got in behind Jordi Alba and Samuel Umtiti, this has been quite comfortable. Lionel Messi has been the difference, because Lionel Messi is always the difference.


GOLAZOOOO!!!! Barcelona 1-0 PSV (Messi 32): BARÇA TAKE THE LEAD WITH AN AMAZING GOAL!!! Lionel Messi takes a spectacular free kick that goes over the wall and right into the top corner with no chance for Zoet. WOW, LEO! WOW!


KICKOFF! Barcelona 0-0 PSV: Don’t give me a heart attack, boys. Please.


LINEUPS

BARCELONA

Starting XI: Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Rakitic, Busquets, Coutinho; Messi, Suárez, Dembélé

Bench: Cillessen, Semedo, Lenglet, Arthur, Vidal, Rafinha, Munir

PSV EINDHOVEN

Starting XI: Zoet; Dumfries, Schwaab, Viergever, Angeliño; Rosario, Pereiro, Hendrix; Lozano, De Jong, Bergwijn

Bench: Room, Isimat-Mirin, Behich, Malen, Sainsbury, Ramselaar, Gutiérrez


It’s Champions League time!!! The most prestigious football competition is finally here, with the group stage starting with a bang! Barcelona will make their debut in the competition with a tough game at home against PSV Eindhoven, and this will no doubt be a fun night of football with two teams who love to attack. Let’s all follow along as Barça start their new European journey!

(Note: the comments will be open only when the team news come out, because our commenter people love commenting and sometimes there are too many comments in the comments section)


MATCH INFO

Competition/Round: 2018-19 UEFA Champions League Group B, Matchday 1

Date/Time: Tuesday, September 18, 2018, 6.55pm CET (Barcelona), 5.55pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 12.55pm ET, 9.55am PT (USA), 10.25pm IST (India)

Venue: Camp Nou, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

Referee: Tasos Sidiropoulos (GRE)

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM UEFA CHAMPIONS LEAGUE

How to watch on TV: TNT (USA), BT Sport 1 (UK), SuperSport 5 (Nigeria), Sony TEN 2 (India), others

How to stream: B/R Live (USA), BT Sport Live (UK), others


Matchday Thread Rules

We don’t have a lot of rules here, but there are a few things to keep in mind when joining our matchday threads:

Even if the referee sucks or we lose the game, no swearing. It’s just unnecessary. Also, don’t discuss illegal streaming links. Those who do it will be warned, and those who post links will be instantly banned. Finally, be nice to each other. This is a Barcelona community and we don’t need to offend one another.

Have fun with the game! Forever and ever, no matter the competition, VISCA EL BARÇA!