clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Girona

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players for a big Catalan Derby at Camp Nou

Celta de Vigo v Barcelona - Copa Del Rey Photo by Octavio Passos/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana play their first Catalan Derby of the new season against Girona at Camp Nou, hoping to stay perfect and continue to lead the table in La Liga.

Barça manager Ernesto Valverde has called up the following 18 players to be in uniform on Sunday night:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 15. Clément Lenglet, 18. Jordi Alba, 23. Samuel Umtiti

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 7. Philippe Coutinho, 8. Arthur, 20. Sergi Roberto, 22. Arturo Vidal

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 19. Munir


The good news here is the return of Denis Suarez, who is involved for the first time since suffering an injury just 20 minutes into preseason. Rafinha, Sergi Samper, Thomas Vermaelen and Carles Aleñá have not been called up by Valverde, and Malcom cannot be involved yet due to injury.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen; Semedo, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Arthur, Busquets, Coutinho; Messi, Suárez, Dembélé


The match kicks off at 8.45pm CET (Barcelona), 7.45pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 2.45pm ET, 11.45am PT (USA), 12.15am IST (India, Monday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!