clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Valladolid, La Liga: Team News, Match Preview

New, comments

Barça return to action after a weekend off looking to stay top of the real table

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Slavia Praha v FC Barcelona: Group F - UEFA Champions League Photo by TF-Images/Getty Images

FC Barcelona (2nd, 19pts) vs Real Valladolid (9th, 14pts)*


*Points and positions at the time of writing on Monday

Competition/Round: 2019-20 La Liga, Matchday 11

Barcelona Outs & Doubts: Arthur, Ousmane Dembélé, Samuel Umtiti, Moussa Wagué, Junior Firpo (out)

Valladolid Outs & Doubts: Javi Sanchez (out), Fede San Emeterio, Ruben Alcaraz, Sandro Ramirez (doubt)

Date/Time: Tuesday, October 29, 2019, 9.15pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 8.15pm GMT (UK), 4.15pm ET, 1.15pm PT (USA), 1.45am IST (India, Wednesday)

Venue: Camp Nou, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

Referee: Javier Alberola Rojas

How to watch on TV: beIN SPORTS (USA & Canada), Premier Sports 1 (UK), SuperSport 7 (Nigeria), Not Available (India), Movistar LaLiga (Spain), others

How to stream: FuboTV (USA), beIN SPORTS CONNECT (USA & Canada), Premier Player (UK), Facebook Live (India), Movistar+ (Spain), others


Following a weekend with no game due to the postponement of El Clásico for security reasons, Barcelona finally return to action in La Liga with an important game against Valladolid at Camp Nou. Because of the weekend off Barça are technically in second place behind surprising leaders Granada, but what we have right now is not the real table.

The real table should be based on points lost instead of won until Barça and Madrid play in December because both teams have a game in hand now. And on points lost we still have the two biggest rivals in Spain in first and second place, so that’s the real table to look at for the next seven weeks.

And in order to stay in first place in the real table Barça must do their job and keep winning games. This week is tricky with two tougher games, including one on the road, in comparison to Madrid’s two home matches against teams in the relegation zone, so there can’t be any messing around and taking teams for granted just because they don’t sound tough.

Valladolid have been solid all season and like most teams in La Liga aren’t that afraid of Barça and believe they can actually win at Camp Nou. Ernesto Valverde might rotate his team a little bit with four games over the next 12 days until the international break, but the side that plays on Tuesday should be good enough to win and not have a lot of trouble.

Do your job and prepare for the Clásico. The next seven weeks are big.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Barcelona (4-3-3): Ter Stegen; Semedo, Piqué, Lenglet, Alba; Vidal, De Jong, Rakitic; Messi, Suárez, Griezmann

Valladolid (4-4-2): Masip; Moyano, Salisu, Olivas, Nacho; Antoñito, Fernandez, Míchel, Villa; Guardiola, Plano


PREDICTION

Slightly nervous for this game because Valladolid are actually good and could trouble us if they decide to press, but Barça usually do well at home against mid-table teams: 3-0 to the home team.