clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Ousmane Dembélé most likely OUT of el Clásico

New, comments

Dembélé will probably miss the match against Real Madrid because of a red card for calling a ref “very bad”

Barcelona V Sevilla, La Liga regular season. Photo by Tim Clayton/Corbis via Getty Images

Ousmane Dembélé will miss the match against Real Madrid, if precedence holds and an appeal proves unsuccessful

The French winger reportedly told the ref, Mateu Lahoz, that he was “very bad,” prompting the ref to show him a red card.

Because of the nature of the sending off, a two-match ban will likely be imposed, meaning he will miss el Clásico. Despite the relatively tame words he used, it is still considered a verbal attack on the referee. Several players in the past have received a two-match ban for calling the referee “bad.”

However, if the ban happens to be only one game, Dembélé would be able to play the most famous match in the world.

Barça will present an appeal to the bans against him and Ronald Araujo, who was sent off for a “last-man” foul in the Sevilla match.

However, the chances of such an appeal succeeding are thought to be slim. In order for it to work, Barcelona would have to prove with evidence that the referee made a mistake in interpretation. However, if Dembélé did what was described in the referee’s report, then the appeal will not work, even if the words are not all that caustic.