clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Leganés

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called up 20 players for Saturday’s match

FC Barcelona v Arsenal - Pre-Season Friendly Photo by Quality Sport Images/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana return to action after the international break with a La Liga game against Leganés, and Ernesto Valverde has called up the following 20 players for the trip to Madrid:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Neto

Defenders: 3. Gerard Piqué, 6. Jean-Clair Todibo, 16. Moussa Wagué, 23. Samuel Umtiti, 24. Junior Firpo, 33. Ronald Araujo, 35. Dani Morer

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 19. Carles Aleñá, 21. Frenkie De Jong, 22. Arturo Vidal

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 17. Antoine Griezmann, 27. Carles Pérez, 31. Ansu Fati


There are some key players missing this one: Arthur is out per the manager’s decision, Sergi Roberto is suspended and Nélson Semedo, Jordi Alba and Clément Lenglet all miss out due to injury. Due to all the problems in defense Valverde has called up Ronald Araujo and Dani Morer from Barça B, but both are among the favorites to watch from the stands as two players will be cut from the final 18-man matchday squad.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen; Wagué, Piqué, Umtiti, Firpo; Rakitic, De Jong, Vidal; Dembélé, Messi, Griezmann


The match kicks off at 1pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 12pm GMT (UK), 7am ET, 4am PT (USA), 5.30pm IST (India), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!