clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Leganés vs Barcelona live blog, full-time: Suárez, Vidal win it for Barça

New, comments

Join us for another Barcelona La Liga adventure!

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

CD Leganes v Villarreal CF - La Liga Photo by Quality Sport Images/Getty Images

FULL-TIME, Leganés 1-2 Barcelona: It’s absurd that we needed a second half comeback to beat the worst team in La Liga, though at least we stay top of the table. But the schedule gets brutal now, and this performance gives no encouragement for what’s ahead. Not great, Bob.


GOAL! Leganés 1-2 Barcelona (Vidal 80’): Barça take the lead! Corner into the box, the ball hits a defender and falls to Arturo Vidal who’s all alone in front of goal and just can’t miss. There was a VAR review for offside but the ball never hit a Barça player and the goal is legit.


GOAL! Leganés 1-1 Barcelona (Suárez 53’): Barça equalize! Free kick from Messi into the box and Luis Suárez heads it home.


SECOND HALF KICKOFF, Leganés 1-0 Barcelona: I don’t even care anymore. Win, lose, draw, whatever. Just get this guy out already.


HALFTIME, Leganés 1-0 Barcelona: Absolutely pathetic. Can we fire Valverde at halftime?


GOAL, Leganés 1-0 Barcelona (En-Nesyri 12’): Leganés take the lead thanks to an amazing strike by Youssef En-Nesyri to the top corner. Barça haven’t been good and deserve to be behind.


KICKOFF! Leganés 0-0 Barcelona: Come on, boys! Let’s get a big win today!


LINEUPS

BARCELONA

Starting XI: Ter Stegen; Wagué, Piqué, Umtiti, Firpo; De Jong, Busquets; Dembélé, Messi, Griezmann; Suárez (4-2-3-1)

Bench: Neto (GK), Araujo, Dani Morer, Rakitic, Aleñá, Vidal, Ansu Fati

LEGANÉS

Starting XI: Cuéllar; Rosales, Bustinza, Omeruo, Siovas, Silva; Ó. Rodríguez, R. Pérez, R. Mesa; En-Nesyri, Braithwaite (5-3-2)

Bench: Soriano (GK), Arnaiz, Awaziem, Tarín, Eraso, Carrillo, Ruibal


WELCOME TO THE BUTARQUE STADIUM!!! The small yet very nice home of Leganés is the site of an important La Liga match between the hosts and two-time defending champions Barcelona, who come in needing a win to stay in first place and build some confidence ahead of what’s going to be a very difficult stretch of games. Leganés are in last place but have some good players up front, so this could be a very good one to watch. And you are welcome to join us to follow and comment all the action. LET’S LIVE BLOG!

(Note: the comments will be open only when the team news come out, because our commenter people love commenting and sometimes there are too many comments in the comments section)


MATCH INFO

Competition/Round: 2019-20 La Liga, Matchday 14

Date/Time: Saturday, November 23, 2019, 1pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 12pm GMT (UK), 7am ET, 4am PT (USA), 5.30pm IST (India)

Venue: Estadio Municipal de Butarque, Madrid, Spain

Referee: Santiago Jaime Latre

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM LA LIGA

How to watch on TV: beIN SPORTS (USA & Canada), Premier Sports 1 (UK), SuperSport 7 (Nigeria), Not Available (India), Movistar LaLiga (Spain), others

How to stream: FuboTV (USA), beIN SPORTS CONNECT (USA & Canada), Premier Player (UK), Facebook Live (India), Movistar+ (Spain), others


Matchday Thread Rules

We don’t have a lot of rules here, but there are a few things to keep in mind when joining our matchday threads:

Even if the referee sucks or we lose the game, be careful with the swearing. It’s just unnecessary. Also, don’t discuss illegal streaming links. Those who do it will be warned, and those who post links will be instantly banned. Finally, be nice to each other. This is a Barcelona community and we don’t need to offend one another.

Have fun with the game! Forever and ever, no matter the competition, VISCA EL BARÇA!