clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Real Madrid

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players for El Clásico

Barcelona V Mallorca Photo by Tim Clayton/Corbis via Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The much-anticipated first El Clásico of the season is finally here, and Ernesto Valverde has called up the following 18 players that will be in uniform Wednesday night at Camp Nou:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Neto

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 15. Clément Lenget, 18. Jordi Alba, 23. Samuel Umtiti

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 19. Carles Aleñá, 20. Sergi Roberto, 21. Frenkie De Jong, 22. Arturo Vidal

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 17. Antoine Griezmann, 27. Carles Pérez, 31. Ansu Fati


With the current injury situation more clear and the importance of the match there wasn’t a lot of doubt regarding the eighteen for the biggest game of the season, so Valverde doesn’t bring any surprises with this list. Out through injury are Arthur (groin) and Ousmane Dembélé (hamstring), while Jean-Clair Todibo, Moussa Wagué and Junior Firpo will watch from the stands per the manager’s choice.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen; Semedo, Piqué, Lenglet, Alba; Rakitic, Busquets, De Jong; Messi, Suárez, Griezmann


The match kicks off at 8pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 7pm GMT (UK), 2pm ET, 11am PT (USA), 12.30am IST (India, Thursday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!