clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Athletic Bilbao

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called up 19 players for the trip to San Mamés

FC Barcelona v CD Leganes - La Liga Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana return to La Liga action with a very tough away game against Athletic Bilbao, and Ernesto Valverde has called up the following 19 players for the trip to San Mamés:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 30. Iñaki Peña

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 15. Clément Lenglet, 17. Jeison Murillo, 24. Thomas Vermaelen, 27. Juan Miranda

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 7. Philippe Coutinho, 20. Sergi Roberto, 21. Carles Aleñá, 22. Arturo Vidal

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 14. Malcom, 19. Kevin-Prince Boateng


The awesome news here is the return of Ousmane Dembélé, who missed several weeks with an ankle injury. There will be players missing out due to injury in Arthur, Samuel Umtiti, Jasper Cillessen and Rafinha. Jordi Alba is suspended, Jean-Clair Todibo and Sergi Samper are out per the manager’s decision, and one player from the 19-man group will be cut from the final matchday squad.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Lenglet, Miranda; Aleñá, Busquets, Vidal; Malcom, Suárez, Dembélé


The match kicks off at 8.45pm CET/WAT (Barceona & Nigeria), 7.45pm GMT (UK), 2.45pm ET, 11.45am PT (USA), 1.15am IST (India, Monday), and you can join our live blog to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!