clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Espanyol live blog, full-time: Lionel Messi brace wins Catalan Derby

New, comments

Join us to follow and comment a huge Catalan Derby at Camp Nou!

FC Barcelona v Olympique Lyonnais - UEFA Champions League Round of 16: Second Leg Photo by Maja Hitij/Getty Images

FULL-TIME, Barcelona 2-0 Espanyol: Barça had to be patient to find the goals in this one, but they eventually came and Messi found his scoring boots in the second half. Shoutout to Malcom, who was awesome off the bench and changed the game with his pace and skill on the left wing.


GOAL!!!!!!!!!!!!! Barcelona 2-0 Espanyol (Messi 89’): BARÇA DOUBLE THE LEAD!!!! It’s a perfect counter attack where Malcom finds himself in loads of space and just waits for Lionel Messi to arrive in the box, and the captain beats the keeper for his and Barça’s second. This game is over, folks.


GOAL!!!!!!!!!!!! Barcelona 1-0 Espanyol (Messi 71’): BARÇA TAKE THE LEAD!!!! Lionel Messi wins a free-kick at the edge of the box, and then he just lifts the ball over the wall and scores a huge goal!!!


SECOND HALF KICKOFF! Barcelona 0-0 Espanyol: Come on, boys! Let’s score some goals and get the win!


HALFTIME, Barcelona 0-0 Espanyol: Barça had possession and did pretty well to create some really nice chances, but their finishing was lacking in the first half. Gotta play a little bit better and definitely improve in front of goal to win this one against a very well organized Espanyol team.


KICKOFF! Barcelona 0-0 Espanyol: Come on, boys! Please don’t give me a heart attack.


LINEUPS

BARCELONA

Starting XI: Ter Stegen; Semedo, Piqué, Lenglet, Alba; Rakitic, Busquets, Arthur; Messi, Suárez, Coutinho (4-3-3)

Bench: Iñaki Peña, Umtiti, Roberto, Aleñá, Vidal, Malcom, Boateng

ESPANYOL

Starting XI: López; Rosales, López, Naldo, Hermoso, Pedrosa; Melendo, Sánchez, Roca, Granero; Iglesias (5-4-1)

Bench: Jiménez, Semedo, Dídac, López, Pérez, Wu Lei, García


WELCOME TO CAMP NOU!!! The Greatest Stadium on Earth is the home of a giant Catalan Derby between Barcelona and Espanyol in what promises to be a very tough La Liga match for the champions. Barça are 10 points clear of Atlético Madrid and the title seems to be getting closer, but we can’t afford to slip up in any game. This will be difficult and Espanyol are always super annoying to play against, especially at Camp Nou, so we need a really good performance. And you can join us to follow and comment all the action. LET’S LIVE BLOG!

(Note: the comments will be open only when the team news come out, because our commenter people love commenting and sometimes there are too many comments in the comments section)


MATCH INFO

Competition/Round: 2018-19 La Liga, Matchday 29

Date/Time: Saturday, March 30, 2019, 4.15pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 3.15pm GMT (UK), 11.15am ET, 8.15am PT (USA), 8.45pm IST (India)

Venue: Camp Nou, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

Referee: Carlos Del Cerro Grande

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM LA LIGA

How to watch on TV: beIN SPORTS (USA, Canada, Spain), SuperSport 7 (Nigeria), SONY TEN 2 (India), others

How to stream: beIN SPORTS CONNECT (USA, Canada, Spain), others


Matchday Thread Rules

We don’t have a lot of rules here, but there are a few things to keep in mind when joining our matchday threads:

Even if the referee sucks or we lose the game, no swearing. It’s just unnecessary. Also, don’t discuss illegal streaming links. Those who do it will be warned, and those who post links will be instantly banned. Finally, be nice to each other. This is a Barcelona community and we don’t need to offend one another.

Have fun with the game! Forever and ever, no matter the competition, VISCA EL BARÇA!