clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Liverpool live blog, full-time: Lionel Messi shines in huge first leg victory

New, comments

Follow along as Barça play a huge European semifinal!

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

FC Barcelona v Olympique Lyonnais - UEFA Champions League Round of 16: Second Leg Photo by Maja Hitij/Getty Images

FULL-TIME, Barcelona 3-0 Liverpool: What a night. What a win. What a team. What a Messi.


GOLAZOOOOOOOOOO!!!!! Barcelona 3-0 Liverpool (Messi 82’): IT’S THREE FOR BARÇA!!! Messi wins a free-kick and fires a ROCKET into the top corner!!! WHAT A GOAL!!!


GOAL!!!!!! Barcelona 2-0 Liverpool (Messi 75’): BARÇA DOUBLE THE LEAD!!! Lionel Messi runs through the Liverpool defense, the ball bounces around, Luis Suárez hits the crossbar and the ball finds the captain for a tap-in and a huge second goal. COME ON!!!


SECOND HALF KICKOFF! Barcelona 1-0 Liverpool: Come on, boys! Let’s keep up the good work and get the win!


HALFTIME, Barcelona 1-0 Liverpool: Unbelievable intensity in the first half, and Barça have been the better team in every sense. Liverpool were dangerous at times on the counter as you’d expect, but the Blaugrana created the better chances and deserved the goal. Second half should be awesome.


GOAL!!!!!!! Barcelona 1-0 Liverpool (Suárez 26’): BARÇA TAKE THE LEAD!!! A great move down the left wing is finished with a masterful cross by Jordi Alba and a great finish by Luis Suárez! GET IN!!!


KICKOFF! Barcelona 0-0 Liverpool: Come on, boys! It’s a semifinal, so give me all the heart attacks you want as long as you win tonight. Let’s do this!


LINEUPS

BARCELONA

Starting XI: Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Lenglet, Alba; Rakitic, Busquets, Vidal; Messi, Suárez, Coutinho (4-3-3)

Bench: Cillessen, Umtiti, Semedo, Aleñá, Arthur, Malcom, Dembélé

LIVERPOOL

Starting XI: Alisson; Gomez, Matip, Van Dijk, Robertson; Fabinho, Milner; Wijnaldum, Keita, Mané; Salah (4-2-3-1)

Bench: Mignolet, Lovren, Alexander-Arnold, Henderson, Shaqiri, Firmino, Origi


WELCOME TO CAMP NOU!!! The Greatest Stadium on Earth is ready for another memorable European night of football as Barcelona welcome Liverpool for the first leg of the UEFA Champions League semifinal. These are two of the preseason favorites to win it all doing battle for a spot in the Final, and both are exceptional teams who are well equipped to win the tie and go to Madrid. The first leg is crucial for Barça, who need to win at home and avoid conceding a big away goal for the Reds, so join us to follow and comment what should be an awesome game. LET’S LIVE BLOG!

(Note: the comments will be open only when the team news come out, because our commenter people love commenting and sometimes there are too many comments in the comments section)


MATCH INFO

Competition/Round: 2018-19 UEFA Champions League, Semifinal, 1st Leg

Date/Time: Wednesday, May 1, 2019, 9pm CET, 8pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 3pm ET, 12pm PT (USA), 12.30am IST (India, Thursday)

Venue: Camp Nou, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

Referee: Björn Kuipers (NED)

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM CHAMPIONS LEAGUE

How to watch on TV: TNT (USA), BT Sport 2 (UK), SuperSport 3 (Nigeria), SONY TEN 2 (India), Movistar Liga de Campeones (Spain), others

How to stream: FuboTV, B/R Live (USA), BT Sport Live (UK), Movistar+ (Spain), others


Matchday Thread Rules

We don’t have a lot of rules here, but there are a few things to keep in mind when joining our matchday threads:

Even if the referee sucks or we lose the game, no swearing. It’s just unnecessary. Also, don’t discuss illegal streaming links. Those who do it will be warned, and those who post links will be instantly banned. Finally, be nice to each other. This is a Barcelona community and we don’t need to offend one another.

Have fun with the game! Forever and ever, no matter the competition, VISCA EL BARÇA!