clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Celta Vigo

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has rested several key players for Saturday’s road trip

SD Huesca v FC Barcelona - La Liga Photo by Juan Manuel Serrano Arce/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana travel to Celta Vigo for their first La Liga game after clinching the championship, and Ernesto Valverde has called up the following 18 players for the trip:


Goalkeepers: 13. Jasper Cillessen, 30. Iñaki Peña

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 6. Jean-Clair Todibo, 15. Clément Lenglet, 17. Jeison Murillo, 23. Samuel Umtiti, 24. Thomas Vermaelen, 40. Moussa Wagué

Midfielders: 7. Philippe Coutinho, 8. Arthur, 21. Carles Aleñá, 22. Arturo Vidal, 28. Riqui Puig, 34. Álex Collado

Forwards: 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 14. Malcom, 19. Kevin-Prince Boateng


Barça have won the title and there’s a trip to Anfield on Tuesday, so Valverde goes all out and rests nearly every single key player: Marc-André ter Stegen, Gerard Piqué, Jordi Alba, Sergi Roberto, Luis Suárez and Lionel Messi all get a day off, and Ivan Rakitic and Sergio Busquets also miss out due to suspension. Rafinha (knee) is the only injury absence for this one.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Cillessen; Wagué, Todibo, Umtiti, Semedo; Aleñá, Arthur, Puig; Malcom, Boateng, Dembélé


The match kicks off at 8.45pm CET (Barcelona), 7.45pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 2.45pm ET, 11.45am PT (USA), 12.15am IST (India, Sunday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!