clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for preseason friendly against Chelsea

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde will have 26 players available for selection

FBL-ESP-LIGA-BARCELONA-TRAINING Photo credit should read LLUIS GENE/AFP/Getty Images

The first Barcelona match of the new season is upon us! The Blaugrana kickoff the 2019-20 campaign with a preseason friendly in Tokyo, Japan against European rivals Chelsea, and Ernesto Valverde will have 26 players at his disposal for the game. Since this is a friendly, all 26 can be in uniform and available to play, and these are them:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Neto, 25. Iñaki Peña

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 6. Jean-Clair Todibo, 15. Clément Lenglet, 18. Jordi Alba, 20. Sergi Roberto, 23. Samuel Umtiti, 26. Ronald Araújo, 28. Guillem Jaime

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 8. Riqui Puig, 12. Rafinha, 16. Oriol Busquets, 19. Carles Aleñá, 21. Frenkie De Jong, 22. Monchu, 24. Álex Collado

Forwards: 7. Carles Pérez, 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 14. Malcom, 17. Antoine Griezmann, 27. Hiroki Abe


These players have been in Japan for a couple of days and no one was injured in the only training session before the game, which is good news and it means all three new signings (Neto, De Jong, Griezmann) are available to start and play against the Blues. The players missing from this one are Lionel Messi, Luis Suárez, Arthur, Philippe Coutinho and Arturo Vidal who get extra rest after the Copa América.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Rakitic, Busquets, De Jong; Malcom, Griezmann, Dembélé


The match kicks off at 7.30pm local time, 12.30pm CET (Barcelona), 11.30am BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 6.30am ET, 3.30am PT (USA), 4pm IST (India), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!