clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for Joan Gamper Trophy against Arsenal

New, comments

As usual for the Gamper, the full first team squad and a few Barça B stars wil be in uniform

Barcelona v Chelsea - Preseason Friendly Photo by Etsuo Hara/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana play the first home game of the new season against Arsenal in the Joan Gamper Trophy, and as usual for the annual Camp Nou opener the entire squad plus a few Barça B stars have been called up for the party.

This is the full squad, with all players available for selection and allowed to be in uniform for this one:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Neto

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 6. Jean-Clair Todibo, 15. Clément Lenglet, 16. Moussa Wagué, 18. Jordi Alba, 23. Samuel Umtiti, 26. Juan Miranda

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 7. Philippe Coutinho, 8. Arthur, 12. Rafinha, 19. Carles Aleñá, 20. Sergi Roberto, 21. Frenkie De Jong, 22. Arturo Vidal, 28. Riqui Puig, 30. Álex Collado

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 17. Antoine Griezmann, 27. Carles Pérez, 29. Abel Ruiz


The five Barça stars who played in the Copa América were the last to arrive and only Arthur and Luis Suárez have had at least one training session with the squad, so it’s safe to expect Messi, Vidal and Coutinho will not have any involvement in this one. Other than these three, everybody else is fit and ready to go.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen; Semedo, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Roberto, Busquets, Rakitic; Rafinha, Griezmann, Dembélé


The match kicks off at 8pm CET (Barcelona), 7pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 2pm ET, 11am PT (USA), 11.30pm IST (India), and you are welcome to join us to follow and comment all the action with our live blog.

VISCA EL BARÇA!