clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Granada, La Liga: Team News, Match Preview

Quique Setien’s first game in charge of the champions

FC Barcelona Training Session With New Coach Quique Setien Photo by Xavier Ballart/Urbanandsport /NurPhoto via Getty Images

Barcelona (2nd, 40 pts) vs Granada 10th, 27pts)*

*Points and positions at the time of writing


Competition/Round: 2019-20 La Liga, Matchday 20

Barcelona Outs & Doubts: Marc-André ter Stegen (doubt), Arthur (doubt), Ousmane Dembélé (out), Luis Suarez (out), Frenkie de Jong (suspended)

Granda Outs & Doubts: Neyder Lozano, Fede Vico, Yangel Herrera, Quini, Neva.

Date/Time: Sunday, January 19th, 2019, 9pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 8pm GMT (UK), 3pm EST, 12pm PST (USA), 1:30am (Mon) IST (India)

Venue: Camp Nou, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

Live stream/TV info: beIN SPORTS (USA, Canada, Spain), Premier Sports (UK), others


Sunday sees a new era at Barcelona as Quique Setien takes charge of the club for the first time after replacing Ernesto Valverde as manager. The new boss has said all the right things this week, has got everyone excited by calling up Riqui Puig for first-team training and now is the time to see what the team can do out on the pitch under the 61-year-old.

Granada have been largely ignored in the build-up to this match due to the changes at the Camp Nou but did beat Barca 2-0 in September and face a visiting side without key players such as Luis Suarez, Ousmane Dembele and Frenkie de Jong.

Yet Barcelona are pretty formidable at home and should have more than enough quality to take all three points from their first home match of 2020.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Barcelona (4-3-3): Ter Stegen; Semedo, Piqué, Lenglet, Alba; Vidal, Busquets, Arthur; Messi, Griezmann, Fati

Granada (3-4-3): Silva; Sanchez, Duarte, Martinez; Diaz, Herrera, Gonalons, Neva; Puertas, Soldado, Machis


PREDICTION

Setien’s arrival at Barcelona has been a breath of fresh air and has brought the feelgood factor back to the champions. An attacking, creative approach is expected and should yield plenty of goals for the hosts: 4-1 Barça.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Barca Blaugranes Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Barca news from Barca Blaugranes