clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for Champions League match against Ferencváros

New, comments

Ronald Koeman has called up 23 players for Tuesday’s European debut

FC Barcelona v Sevilla FC - La Liga Photo by Xavier Bonilla/NurPhoto via Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana make their Champions League debut for the 2020-21 season with a home game against Hungarian champions Ferencváros, and Ronald Koeman has called up the following 23 players for Tuesday night:


Goalkeepers: 13. Neto, 26. Iñaki Peña, 36. Arnau Tenas

Defenders: 2. Sergiño Dest, 3. Gerard Piqué, 4. Ronald Araujo, 15. Clément Lenglet, 20. Sergi Roberto, 24. Junior Firpo, 28. Óscar Mingueza

Midfielders: 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Carles Aleñá, 8. Miralem Pjanic, 12. Riqui Puig, 14. Philippe Coutinho, 16. Pedri, 21. Frenkie De Jong

Forwards: 7. Antoine Griezmann, 9. Martin Braithwaite, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 17. Francisco Trincão, 22. Ansu Fati


The five-substitution rule still applies for the Champions League this season, so all 23 players in the list above will be in uniform and available to play. There are no fresh news on the injury front, so Marc-André ter Stegen (knee), Jordi Alba (hamstring), Samuel Umtiti (knee) and Matheus Fernandes (hamstring) are still out, though Ter Stegen and Alba are both pushing to return in time for El Clásico this weekend.

Predicted starting XI (4-2-3-1):

Neto; Dest, Araujo, Lenglet, Firpo; Pjanic, De Jong; Trincão, Coutinho, Ansu Fati; Messi


The match kicks off at 9pm CET (Barcelona), 8pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 3pm ET, 12pm PT (USA), 12.30am IST (India, Wednesday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!