clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Real Madrid, La Liga: Team News, El Clásico Match Preview

New, comments

El Clásico is here. Let’s dance.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

FBL-EUR-C1-BARCELONA-FERENCVAROS Photo by LLUIS GENE/AFP via Getty Images

FC Barcelona (9th, 7pts) vs Real Madrid (3rd, 10pts)*


*Points and positions at the time of writing on Friday

Competition/Round: 2020-21 La Liga, Matchday 7

Barcelona Outs & Doubts: Marc-André ter Stegen, Samuel Umtiti, Matheus Fernandes (out)

Real Madrid Outs & Doubts: Eden Hazard, Daniel Carvajal, Martin Odegaard, Álvaro Odriozola, Mariano (out)

Date/Time: Saturday, October 24, 2020, 4pm CET (Barcelona), 3pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 10am ET, 7am PT (USA), 7.30pm IST (India)

Venue: Camp Nou, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

Referee: Juan Martínez Munuera

VAR: José María Sánchez Martínez

How to watch on TV: beIN SPORTS (USA & Canada), LaLigaTV (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), Movistar LaLiga (Spain), Not Available (India), others

How to stream: FuboTV (USA), Premier Player (UK), Facebook Live (India), Movistar+ (Spain), others


Following a dominant victory to start their European season in midweek, Barcelona return to action in La Liga for the first El Clásico of 2020-21 against Real Madrid at the Greatest Stadium on Earth.

This is a somewhat strange Clásico: there will be no fans because of the pandemic, and it’ll be fascinating to see what the impact of no crowds at Camp Nou will have on this game. Real Madrid come into this one on the back of two bad losses at home, and they have some key players missing due to injury including Eden Hazard.

But Sergio Ramos is back, which is a boost to the Blancos’ defense against a Barça team that just scored five in the Champions League. The Blaugrana looked excellent against Ferencváros, and Ronald Koeman will definitely love to win his first El Clásico as manager.

Koeman has a couple of big lineup decisions to make: Jordi Alba is back from injury, but with Sergiño Dest filling in very nicely at left-back it may be a good idea to keep the American on the team. Up front, Antoine Griezmann is expected to start but has not played well at all this season, and with guys like Pedri and Ousmane Dembélé in such great form it’ll be very interesting to see if Koeman pulls the trigger on keeping one of the big names on the bench for such a giant match.

Despite Madrid’s form this will not be easy at all for Barça, who have to be at their best to win. Koeman’s lineup decisions will go a long way in helping the team reach their best, but ultimately it’s about the 11 players on the pitch rising up to the challenge and owning the moment.

It’s El Clásico time. Let’s dance.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Barcelona (4-2-3-1): Neto; Roberto, Piqué, Lenglet, Alba; Busquets, De Jong; Griezmann, Coutinho, Fati; Messi

Real Madrid (4-3-1-2): Courtois; Nacho, Varane, Ramos, Mendy; Valverde, Casemiro, Kroos; Modric; Benzema, Vinicius


PREDICTION

I am always super nervous and have no idea what to expect from a Clásico, so I’ll go safe with the pick: 2-2 draw.