clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Deportivo Alavés vs Barcelona, La Liga: Team News, Match Preview

New, comments

In desperate need of points in La Liga, Barça travel to the Basque Country for a tough game

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Juventus v FC Barcelona: Group G - UEFA Champions League Photo by Tullio Puglia - UEFA/UEFA via Getty Images

Deportivo Alavés (15th, 7pts) vs FC Barcelona (12th, 7pts)*


*Points and positions at the time of writing on Friday

Competition/Round: 2020-21 La Liga, Matchday 8

Barcelona Outs & Doubts: Marc-André ter Stegen, Samuel Umtiti, Ronald Araujo, Riqui Puig, Matheus Fernandes (out)

Alavés Outs & Doubts: Pere Pons (out), Rodrigo Ely (doubt)

Date/Time: Saturday, October 31, 2020, 9pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 8pm GMT (UK), 4pm ET, 1pm PT (USA), 1.30am IST (India, Sunday)

Venue: Estadio de Mendizorrotza, Vitoria-Gasteiz, Basque Country, Spain

Referee: Alejandro José Hernández Hernández

VAR: Ignacio Iglesias Villanueva

How to watch on TV: beIN SPORTS (USA & Canada), LaLigaTV (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), Movistar LaLiga (Spain), Not Available (India), others

How to stream: FuboTV (USA), Premier Player (UK), Facebook Live (India), Movistar+ (Spain), others


Following a very good Champions League victory away to Juventus in midweek, Barcelona are right back in action in La Liga with what promises to be a difficult away trip to face Deportivo Alavés in the Basque Country.

Despite their perfect record in Europe, this has not been a very good start to the season for the Blaugrana. With just seven points in their first five league games, Barça are already seven points behind leaders Real Sociedad, and must start picking up points in a hurry to avoid falling to far behind in what should be a hard-fought title race this season.

Barça have the same number of points as Alavés, who come into this one having won two of their last three and expected to play a defensive game and try and take chances on the counter. Ronald Koeman has clearly made a positive impact on the team when it comes to playing away from home, but they must translate a better attitude into wins on the road.

The problem so far this season has been a lack of consistency. Two wins and two good performances in a row will be a good way to start solving that problem. This should be fun.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Barcelona (4-2-3-1): Neto; Dest, Piqué, Lenglet, Alba; Pjanic, Busquets; Dembélé, Pedri, Fati; Messi

Alavés (3-5-2): Pacheco; Lejeune, Navarro, Laguardia; Méndez, Jota, Battaglia, Pina, Duarte; Joselu, Pérez


PREDICTION

No Bartomeu, All Party? Yes. 3-0 Barça.