clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Eibar, La Liga: Team News, Match Preview

New, comments

Barça play their final match of 2020 looking to continue building upon a good run of results

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

FC Barcelona v Valencia CF - La Liga Santander Photo by Eric Alonso/Getty Images

FC Barcelona (5th, 24pts) vs SD Eibar (17th, 15pts)*


*Points and positions at the time of writing on Monday

Competition/Round: 2020-21 La Liga, Matchday 16

Barcelona Outs & Doubts: Lionel Messi, Ansu Fati, Gerard Piqué, Jordi Alba, Sergi Roberto (out)

Eibar Outs & Doubts: Cote (out), Rober Correa, Paulo Oliveira, Sergi Enrich, Yoshinori Muto (doubt)

Date/Time: Tuesday, December 29, 2020, 7.15pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 6.15pm GMT (UK), 1.15pm ET, 10.15am PT (USA), 11.45pm IST (India)

Venue: Camp Nou, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

Referee: Javier Alberola Rojas

VAR: Ignacio Iglesias Villanueva

How to watch on TV: beIN SPORTS (USA & Canada), LaLigaTV (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), Movistar LaLiga (Spain), Not Available (India), others

How to stream: FuboTV (USA), Premier Player (UK), Facebook Live (India), Movistar+ (Spain), others


Following a week-long Christmas break, Barcelona are back in action in La Liga for the final game of 2020 against Eibar at the Greatest Stadium on Earth. Barça are on a good run of results with three wins and a draw in their last four games, a consistency they hadn’t yet achieved in the league this season.

In order to continue that run Barça will have to defeat a struggling Eibar team that has just one win in six, but they did manage to draw games against Real Sociedad and Valencia proving they can still cause troubles to the best teams in the country.

If you don’t look at the results and see the actual games, Eibar usually play Barça pretty tough both home and away until Lionel Messi happens and Barça end up winning by a comfortable margin thanks to two or three goals from the GOAT.

Messi’s treatment of Eibar is almost cruel, so it’s safe to say they were pretty relieved to learn that the captain will miss Tuesday’s match with an ankle injury that actually sounds like Messi wanting to rest just a couple more days after Christmas and come back fresh for the New Year.

Even without Messi and the suspended Jordi Alba the Blaugrana should be able to dominate at home and continue the good run of results. Four wins in five would be a massive improvement for this team, and maybe, just maybe, they can’t compete for the title. Gotta win, though.

Let’s dance.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Barcelona (4-2-3-1): Ter Stegen; Dest, Araujo, Lenglet, Firpo; Busquets, De Jong; Dembélé, Griezmann, Pedri; Braithwaite

Eibar (4-4-2): Dmitrovic; Pozo, Burgos, Bigas, Soares; León, Diop, Exposito, Inui; Muto, Kike


PREDICTION

Barça usually do well at home against struggling teams, and they’ve been pretty good this season without Messi and that run continues: 4-1 to the good guys.