clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Barcelona Femeni crowned 2019-20 champions

The team’s first title in five seasons

FC Barcelona Femeni v CD Tacon - Primera Iberdrola Photo by Quality Sport Images/Getty Images

Barcelona Femeni have been crowned 2019-20 league champions after the RFEF confirmed on Friday the Liga Iberdrola season is over and table-toppers Barca are the winners.

The Catalans were top of the pile when the campaign was halted because of the coronavirus pandemic, nine points clear of Atletico Madrid with nine games left.

In fact Lluís Cortés’ side had yet to taste defeat in the league, winning 19 and drawing two of their games over the course of the campaign.

Barcelona Femeni tweeted: “We would have liked to continue winning it on the field, but it has not been possible.”

It’s the fifth time Barcelona Femeni have been crowned champions and their first triumph since 2015.

Congratulations Barcelona Femeni!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Barca Blaugranes Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Barca news from Barca Blaugranes