clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UEFA Champions League “Final Eight” set to be played in August in Portugal

The final will be in Lisbon

Chelsea FC v Lille OSC: Group H - UEFA Champions League Photo by Jakub Porzycki/NurPhoto via Getty Images

The last eight teams left alive for the UEFA Champions League will play in an abbreviated tournament in Portugal to decide the champion this year, according to various reports.

The quarterfinals, semifinals, and final of Europe’s top competition will be played in Lisbon’s two biggest stadiums: the Estádio da Luz and the Estádio José Alvalade.

Estádio da Luz, officially named Estádio Sport Lisboa e Benfica, is the home of SL Benfica. Meanwhile, the Estádio José Alvalade is where Sporting CP play.

Original final hosts Istanbul will be compensated with the right to stage a future final.

The final stages will take place between August 12 and 23, with ties decided on a single match, rather than a two-legged basis.

Paris Saint-Germain, Atalanta, Atlético Madrid, and RB Leipzig have already qualified for the last eight. The remaining four spots will go to Real Madrid or Manchester City, Chelsea or Bayern Munich, Lyon or Juventus, and Napoli or Barcelona. Those have played just one leg of their last 16 tie, which was interrupted by the outbreak of coronavirus. They will have to resolve their ties to decide who gets the right to play in the last eight.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Barca Blaugranes Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Barca news from Barca Blaugranes