clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sevilla vs Barcelona, La Liga: Team News, Match Preview, Lineups, Score Prediction

New, comments

Barça play their third game in seven days on the road against a very good and hungry Sevilla team

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

FC Barcelona v CD Leganes - La Liga Photo by Alex Caparros/Getty Images

Sevilla FC (3rd, 51pts) vs FC Barcelona (1st, 64pts)*


*Points and positions at the time of writing on Thursday

Competition/Round: 2019-20 La Liga, Matchday 30

Barcelona Outs & Doubts: Frenkie De Jong, Sergi Roberto, Samuel Umtiti, Ousmane Dembélé (out)

Sevilla Outs & Doubts: None

Date/Time: Friday, June 19, 2020, 10pm CET (Barcelona), 9pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 4pm ET, 1pm PT (USA), 1.30am IST (India, Saturday)

Venue: Estadio Ramón Sánchez Pizjuán, Seville, Spain

Referee: José Luis González González

How to watch on TV: beIN SPORTS (USA & Canada), LaLigaTV (UK), SuperSport 7 (Nigeria), Movistar LaLiga (Spain), Not Available (India), others

How to stream: fuboTV (USA), beIN SPORTS CONNECT (USA & Canada), Premier Player (UK), Facebook Live (India), Movistar+ (Spain), others


Following a boring and uninspired win against Leganés at Camp Nou, Barcelona are right back in action with what is always a very tough La Liga match away to Sevilla at the Ramón Sánchez Pizjuán. Barça remain top of the table and need three points to guarantee first place until the next round of matches, but this will not be easy.

Trips to Seville are historically tough for the Blaugrana, but this is an especially good Sevilla team under first-year coach Julen Lopetegui, who rebounded well from the 2018 Spain-Madrid fiasco with a great job managing the Rojiblancos. Sevilla are tough, defend well and like to use possession to create loads of chances and score goals, and they’re unbeaten in the last six La Liga games.

This is a legitimately good team who won’t be afraid of Barça and will try to out-possession and out-create the leaders, and they usually make things incredibly tough for the Catalans at the Pizjuán. They won’t have their incredible fans, this time, though, and that could be a big deal.

Barça need to know they’re in for a tough, intense, well-played football match against a good team. If they play the same, lazy football they did against Leganés, Sevilla will dominate.

This should be fun.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Barcelona (4-3-3): Ter Stegen; Semedo, Piqué, Lenglet, Alba; Vidal, Busquets, Arthur; Messi, Griezmann, Braithwaite

Sevilla (4-3-3): Vaclik; Navas, Carlos, Koundé, Reguilón; Jordán, Fernando, Banega; Ocampos, De Jong, Munir


PREDICTION

I’m always really nervous for every Sevilla away game because of the team and the crowd, but the crowd’s not there so 3-2 Barça.