clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Villarreal

New, comments

Quique Setién has called up 24 players for Sunday’s match

Sevilla FC v FC Barcelona - La Liga Photo by Mateo Villalba/Quality Sport Images/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana return to action in La Liga with a tough away game against Villarreal, and Quique Setién has called up the following 24 players for the trip to El Madrigal:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Neto, 26. Iñaki Peña

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 15. Clément Lenglet, 18. Jordi Alba, 33. Ronald Araujo, 35. Dani Morer, 43. Jorge Cuenca

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 8. Arthur, 20. Sergi Roberto, 22. Arturo Vidal, 28. Riqui Puig, 30. Álex Collado, 42. Monchu

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 17. Antoine Griezmann, 19. Martin Braithwaite, 31. Ansu Fati


There’s some bad news ahead of this one: Samuel Umtiti’s knee injury is acting up again and Junior Firpo was ruled out Sunday morning with a hip injury, so the two defenders are unavailable for this one and join Frenkie De Jong (calf) and Ousmane Dembélé (hamstring) on the injured list.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Lenglet, Alba; Rakitic, Busquets, Puig; Messi, Suárez, Ansu Fati


The match kicks off on Sunday at 10pm CET (Barcelona), 9pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 4pm ET, 1pm PT (USA), 1.30am IST (India, Monday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!