clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Espanyol

New, comments

Quique Setién has called up 23 players for Wednesday’s derby

FC Barcelona v Athletic Club - La Liga

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana are back in action in La Liga with an important game against city rivals Espanyol, and Quique Setién has called up the following 23 players for Wednesday night:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Neto, 26. Iñaki Peña

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 15. Clément Lenglet, 18. Jordi Alba, 33. Ronald Araujo, 35. Dani Morer, 43. Jorge Cuenca

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 8. Arthur, 20. Sergi Roberto, 22. Arturo Vidal, 28. Riqui Puig, 30. Álex Collado, 42. Monchu

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 17. Antoine Griezmann, 19. Martin Braithwaite, 31. Ansu Fati


There are no changes to this list compared to Sunday’s match at Villarreal. Junior Firpo still hasn’t recovered from a hip problem and misses out, with Frenkie De Jong (calf), Samuel Umtiti (knee) and Ousmane Dembélé (hamstring) also not available to play due to injury. All 23 players on the list above will be in uniform thanks to the new substitution rules.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-1-2):

Ter Stegen; Semedo, Piqué, Lenglet, Alba; Vidal, Busquets, Roberto; Messi; Griezmann, Suárez


The match kicks off on Wednesday at 10pm CET (Barcelona), 9pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 4pm ET, 1pm PT (USA), 1.30am IST (India, Thursday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!