clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Villarreal

New, comments

Ronald Koeman has called up 23 players for Sunday’s league debut

FC Barcelona v Girona - Pre-Season Friendly Photo by Pedro Salado/Quality Sport Images/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana make their La Liga season debut against Villarreal at home, and new manager Ronald Koeman has called up the following 23 players for Sunday’s game:


Goalkeepers: 13. Neto, 25. Iñaki Peña, 33. Arnau Tenas

Defenders: 3. Gerard Piqué, 15. Clément Lenglet, 18. Jordi Alba, 20. Sergi Roberto, 24. Junior Firpo, 30. Ronald Araujo, 32. Santiago Mingo

Midfielders: 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Carles Aleñá, 8. Miralem Pjanic, 12. Rafinha Alcântara, 14. Philippe Coutinho, 16. Pedri, 21. Frenkie De Jong, 28. Riqui Puig

Forwards: 7. Antoine Griezmann, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 17. Francisco Trincão, 22. Ansu Fati


Koeman’s first squad has no real big surprises, although it is nice to see Riqui Puig on the list. The defense looks pretty thin and has two Barça B youngsters in Ronald and Mingo but the midfield is filled with names including that of Rafinha, who will be in uniform after not featuring at all in preseason. Marc-André ter Stegen (knee), Martin Braithwaite (hamstring) and Samuel Umtiti (knee) miss out through injury.

Predicted starting XI (4-2-3-1):

Neto; Roberto, Piqué, Lenglet, Alba; Busquets, De Jong; Griezmann, Coutinho, Ansu Fati; Messi


The match kicks off at 9pm CET (Barcelona), 8pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 3pm ET, 12pm PT (USA), 12.30am IST (India), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!