clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Arsenal, Women’s Champions League: Live blog, updates, goals, highlights

Join us for the first Barça Women European adventure of the season!

Chelsea FC v Barcelona: UEFA Women’s Champions League Final - Previews Photo by Lukas Schulze - UEFA/UEFA via Getty Images

It’s time for the start of Barcelona Women’s European journey! The all-conquering Barça Femení team begins their Women’s Champions League title defense against WSL leaders Arsenal at the Johan Cruyff Stadium in the first match of Group C.

This has been a sensational start to the season for Barça’s ladies under new manager Jonatan Giráldez, who has somehow managed to improve on the last season’s Treble-winning team. So far through five games in the Spanish league, Barça have scored 35 goals and conceded just one, absolutely destroying everyone in their path with great football and amazing goals.

But the level of competition rises in Europe, and it doesn’t get much tougher than Arsenal who have made their own perfect start to the season in England and come into this one confident they can pull off the upset. This should be a fun one, and you’re welcome to join us to follow and comment all the action. Vamos!


LIVE BLOG


LINEUPS

BARCELONA

Starting XI: Paños; Marta, Paredes, Mapi, Crnogorcevic; Aitana, Patri, Alexia; Graham, Oshoala, Mariona (4-3-3)

Bench: Cata (GK), Gemma (GK), Jana, Melanie, Leila, Pereira, Engen, Pina, Rolfö, Martens, Bruna, Hermoso

ARSENAL

Starting XI: Zinsberger; Maritz, Williamson, Beattie, Catley; Wälti, Little, Maanum; Mead, Miedema, McCabe (4-3-3)

Bench: Williams (GK), Cull (GK), Wubben-Moy, Patten, Nobbs, Parris, Foord, Schnaderbeck, Iwabuchi, Heath


MATCH INFO

Competition/Round: 2021-22 UEFA Women’s Champions League, Group C, Matchday 1

Date/Time: Tuesday, October 5, 2021, 9pm CET (Barcelona), 8pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeira), 3pm ET, 12pm PT (USA), 12.30am IST (India, Wednesday)

Venue: Johan Cruyff Stadium, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

Referee: Jana Adámková (CZE)

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM UEFA WOMEN’S CHAMPIONS LEAGUE

This season’s UWCL will be available to stream for FREE worldwide on DAZN’s YouTube channel. Click here to watch tonight’s game.


Matchday Thread Rules

We don’t have a lot of rules here, but there are a few things to keep in mind when joining our matchday threads:

Even if the referee sucks or we lose the game, watch the swearing. It’s just unnecessary. Also, don’t discuss illegal streaming links. Those who do it will be warned, and those who post links will be instantly banned. Finally, be nice to each other. This is a Barcelona community and we don’t need to offend one another.

Have fun with the game! Forever and ever, no matter the competition, VISCA EL BARÇA!