clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

UEFA Nations League Semi-Final Live Thread: Italy vs Spain

Join us to follow and comment a huge Nations League semi-final featuring four Barcelona players!

Milan Previews – UEFA Nations League Finals 2021 Photo by Emilio Andreoli - UEFA/UEFA via Getty Images

It’s time for the UEFA Nations League semi-finals! The second-ever champion of the new international competition in Europe will be decided this weekend, and four Barcelona players will be in action tonight as Luis Enrique’s Spain face a monster challenge on the road to the Final.

La Roja will take on the reigning European champions Italy at San Siro, which is about as tough an assignment as you could ask for in international football. The Italians haven’t lost in forever under Roberto Mancini, and they just beat Spain in the Euro 2020 semi-final at Wembley three months ago.

They will be the favorites for this one, especially with Spain dealing with a couple of key injuries in Barça midfielder Pedri and striker Álvaro Morata, but Sergio Busquets, Eric García, Sergi Roberto and 17-year-old Gavi will all be hoping to take part of a memorable night for the Spaniards. And Gavi starts!

This should be fun, and you’re welcome to join us to follow and comment all the action. Vamos!


LIVE BLOG


LINEUPS

ITALY

Starting XI: Donnarumma; Di Lorenzo, Bonucci, Bastoni, Emerson; Barella, Jorginho, Verratti; Chiesa, Bernardeschi, Insigne (4-3-3)

Bench: Sirigu (GK), Meret (GK), Chiellini, Calabria, Locatelli, Pellegrini, Raspadori, Berardi, Dimarco, Acerbi, Cristante, Kean

SPAIN

Starting XI: Simón; Azpilicueta, Laporte, Pau, Alonso; Koke, Busquets, Gavi; Sarabia, Ferran, Oyarzabal (4-3-3)

Bench: De Gea (GK), Sánchez (GK), Martínez, Gil, Yeremi, Roberto, García, Reguilón, Porro, Rodri, Fornals, Merino


MATCH INFO

Competition/Round: 2021 UEFA Nations League, Semi-Final 1

Kickoff: Wednesday, October 6, 2021, 8.45pm CET (Barcelona), 7.45pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 2.45pm ET, 11.45am PT (USA), 12.15am IST (India, Thursday)

Venue: San Siro, Milan, Italy

Referee: Sergei Karasev (RUS)

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM UEFA NATIONS LEAGUE

How to watch on TV: ESPN 2, TUDN (USA), Sky Sports Football (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), Sony LIV (India), TVE La 1 (Spain), others

How to stream: Univision NOW (USA), Sky GO (UK), others


Matchday Thread Rules

We don’t have a lot of rules here, but there are a few things to keep in mind when joining our matchday threads:

Even if the referee sucks or we lose the game, be careful with the swearing. It’s just unnecessary. Also, don’t discuss illegal streaming links. Those who do it will be warned, and those who post links will be instantly banned. Finally, be nice to each other.

Have fun with the game! Forever and ever, no matter the competition, VISCA EL BARÇA!