clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona vs Huesca, La Liga: Team News, Match Preview

New, comments

Barça are at home against the worst team in the league looking to win and put pressure on the leaders

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

FC Barcelona v Sevilla - Spanish Copa del Rey Photo by David S. Bustamante/Soccrates/Getty Images

FC Barcelona (3rd, 56pts) vs SD Huesca (20th, 20pts)


Competition/Round: 2020-21 La Liga, Matchday 27

Barcelona Outs & Doubts: Ansu Fati, Philippe Coutinho, Sergi Roberto, Gerard Piqué (out)

Huesca Outs & Doubts: Gastón Silva (out), Luisinho, Pedro Mosquera, Sandro Ramírez (doubt)

Date/Time: Monday, March 15, 2021, 9pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 8pm GMT (UK), 4pm ET, 1pm PT (USA), 1.30am IST (India, Tuesday)

Venue: Camp Nou, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

Referee: Adrián Cordero Vega

VAR: Mario Melero López

How to watch on TV: beIN SPORTS (USA & Canada), Premier Sports 1 (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), Movistar LaLiga (Spain), Not Available (India), others

How to stream: FuboTV (USA), Premier Player (UK), Facebook Live (India), Movistar+ (Spain), others


Following a graceful exit from the Champions League in Paris, Barcelona are back in action in La Liga for a rare Monday night game, against bottom of the table Huesca at the Greatest Stadium on Earth.

With Europe out of the way for this season, Barça have 13 domestic matches to focus in from now to the end of May. The Copa del Rey Final is next month and there are 12 La Liga matches, including El Clásico and a direct matchup with current leaders Atlético Madrid.

Atlético went from champions elect in December to an inconsistent team that cannot stop dropping points, and a goalless draw against 10-man Getafe on Saturday was another slip from Diego Simeone’s side. Barça can close the gap at the top to just four points with a win against Huesca, and they could not be more favorites ahead of this one.

Barça continue to be the in-form side in the league, with a 16-game unbeaten streak dating back to the start of December which includes 10 wins in the last 11 games, a truly remarkable run for a team that looked in real danger of missing out on the Europa League places less than three months ago.

By winning 42 out of the last 48 points with a team that looks stronger and more solid with every match, Barça are ready to make a real title challenge. But a game at home against the worst team in the league is the perfect opportunity for a shock result if they take it for granted, so Barça must be at their best from the start.

Let’s dance.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Barcelona (4-3-3): Ter Stegen; Dest, Mingueza, Lenglet, Alba; De Jong, Busquets, Pedri; Dembélé, Messi, Griezmann

Huesca (5-3-2): Fernández; Maffeo, Pulido, Siovas, Insua, Galán; Ferreira, Rico, Seoane; Mir, Escriche


PREDICTION

Huesca will park the bus and make it tough for a while, but Barça will eventually find a way to break them down: 3-0 to the good guys.