clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Athletic Bilbao vs Barcelona live blog, full-time: Barça win 31st Copa del Rey

New, comments

Join us for a Barcelona title adventure!

Training Athletic Bilbao Photo by David S. Bustamante/Soccrates/Getty Images

FULL-TIME, Athletic 0-4 Barcelona: IT’S OVER! CAMPEONES!!!!!!!!!


85min: GOAL DISALLOWED! Griezmann thought he had made it 5-0 after rounding the keeper and scoring against an open net, but he was offside.


GOAL!!!!! Athletic 0-4 Barcelona (Messi 72’): IT’S FOUR FOR BARÇA!!! Another great team goal and another assist for Jordi Alba who finds Messi at the edge of the box and the captain beats Unai Simón for his second of the night!


GOAL!!!!! Athletic 0-3 Barcelona (Messi 68’): IT’S THREE! Messi plays a beautiful one-two with De Jong, leaves Unai Núñez for dead inside the penalty area and passes the ball into the bottom corner! What a second half from Barça!


GOAL!!!! Athletic 0-2 Barcelona (De Jong 63’): IT’S TWO FOR BARÇA!!! Jordi Alba plays a cross into the box trying to find Messi, the captain misses the ball but De Jong is at the far post and heads it home!


GOAL!!! Athletic 0-1 Barcelona (Griezmann 60’): BARÇA TAKE THE LEAD!!! Lionel Messi finds Frenkie De Jong on the right wing and the Dutchman plays a perfect cross to Antoine Griezmann for a tap-in!!!


SECOND HALF KICKOFF! Athletic 0-0 Barcelona: And we’re back underway in Seville! Come on, boys!


HALFTIME, Athletic 0-0 Barcelona: Barça had the best chance of the first half when Frenkie De Jong hit the post, but the rest of the half was very physical with not a lot of quality.


KICKOFF! Athletic 0-0 Barcelona: And we’re underway! Come on, boys!


LINEUPS

BARCELONA

Starting XI: Ter Stegen; Mingueza, Piqué, Lenglet; Dest, De Jong, Busquets, Pedri, Alba; Messi, Griezmann (3-5-2)

Bench: Iñaki Peña (GK), Arnau (GK), Araujo, Umtiti, Roberto, Moriba, Trincão, Dembélé, Braithwaite

ATHLETIC BILBAO

Starting XI: Simón; De Marcos, Yeray, Martínez, Balenziaga; Berenguer, García, López, Muniain; Williams, R. García (4-4-2)

Bench: Ezkieta (GK), Morcillo, Nuñez, Vesga, Lekue, Yuri, Villalibre, Capa, Vencedor


WELCOME TO THE ESTADIO DE LA CARTUJA!!! The new home of Spain’s cup deciders in Seville is the site of the 2021 Copa del Rey Final just two weeks after the 2020 title game. Athletic Bilbao are in it for the second time in a fortnight, but this time they face Catalan giants Barcelona in what promises to be a highly intense battle for the Spanish Cup trophy. This should be awesome, and you’re welcome to join us to follow and comment all the action. LET’S LIVE BLOG!!!

(Note: the comments will be open only when the team news come out, because our commenter people love commenting and sometimes there are too many comments in the comments section)


MATCH INFO

Competition/Round: 2021 Copa del Rey Final

Date/Time: Saturday, April 17, 2021, 9.30pm CET (Barcelona), 8.30pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 3.30pm ET, 12.30pm PT (USA), 1am IST (India, Sunday)

Venue: Estadio de La Cartuja, Seville, Spain

Referee: Juan Martínez Munuera

VAR: José Luis González González

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM COPA DEL REY FINAL

How to watch on TV: Premier Sports 1 (UK), Startimes Sports Life (Nigeria), TeleCinco (Spain), others

How to stream: ESPN+ (USA), Premier Player (UK), others


Matchday Thread Rules

We don’t have a lot of rules here, but there are a few things to keep in mind when joining our matchday threads:

Even if the referee sucks or we lose the game, watch the swearing. It’s just unnecessary. Also, don’t discuss illegal streaming links. Those who do it will be warned, and those who post links will be instantly banned. Finally, be nice to each other. This is a Barcelona community and we don’t need to offend one another.

Have fun with the game! Forever and ever, no matter the competition, VISCA EL BARÇA!