clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Argentina vs Chile, Copa América 2021: Live blog, updates, highlights

New, comments

Join us for Lionel Messi and Sergio Agüero’s Copa América debut!

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

FBL-WC-2022-SAMERICA-QUALIFIERS-COL-ARG Photo by RAUL ARBOLEDA/AFP via Getty Images

It’s time for the 2021 Copa América! It actually started on Sunday with wins for Brazil and Colombia, but what we all really care about is Lionel Messi’s Argentina, who begin their journey with a rematch of the 2015 and 2016 Finals against Chile.

Argentina and Chile have a great rivalry going for half a decade now, and they played an excellent match in the World Cup Qualifiers just over a week ago. Now they meet in Rio de Janeiro in what promises to be a great opening game, and a win for the Albiceleste would be a big confidence booster for Messi, Sergio Agüero and Co.

Messi starts, Agüero is recovered from Covid and on the bench, former Barça midfielder Arturo Vidal is back for La Roja, and this will be a good one. Let’s go!


MATCH INFO

Competition/Round: Copa América 2021, Zona Sur, Round 1

Date/Time: Monday, June 14, 2021, 11pm CET (Barcelona), 10pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 5pm ET, 2pm PT (USA), 2.30am IST (India, Tuesday)

Venue: Estádio Nilton Santos, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Referee: Wilmar Roldán (COL)

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM COPA AMÉRICA 2021

How to watch on TV: Fox Sports 1 (USA), TSN 3 (Canada), Canal+ Sport 3 (Nigeria), SONY TEN 2 (India), others

How to watch online: FuboTV (USA), BBC iPlayer (UK), TSN App (Canada), others


LINEUPS

ARGENTINA

Starting XI: Martínez; Montiel, M. Quarta, Otamendi, Tagliafico; De Paul, Paredes, Lo Celso; Messi, Lautaro, González (4-3-3)

Bench: Armani (GK), Marchesín (GK), Pezzela, Martínez, Molina, Acuña, Palacios, Rodríguez, Di María, A. Correa, J. Correa, Agüero

CHILE

Starting XI: Bravo; Isla, Medel, Maripán, Mena; Aránguiz, Pulgar, Vidal; Palacios, Vargas, Meneses (4-3-3)

Bench: Arias (GK), Castellón (GK), Roco, Pinares, Mora, Galdames, Baeza, Vegas, Alarcón, Díaz, Montes, Núñez


LIVE BLOG