clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Euro 2020 live blog, Day 9: Goals, highlights, updates

New, comments

Join us for a huge Day 9 of European Championships action!

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Spain v Sweden - UEFA Euro 2020: Group E Photo by Diego Souto/Quality Sport Images/Getty Images

Welcome to Day 9 of the European Championships! The second round of group stage matches come to a close today, and it’s a big day of football with Barcelona players in action.

The day starts in Budapest as Hungary takes on Antoine Griezmann, Ousmane Dembélé, Clément Lenglet and France who can reach a spot in the Round of 16 with a victory. Then it’s another giant game in the Group of Death as Germany face Portugual in Munich, desperate for a victory after the opening day loss to the French. You Know Who and his team could knock out the Germans with a win, bringing an early end to Joachim Löw’s final tournament in charge.

To close out the day, it’s all about Spain as Luis Enrique’s La Roja face a huge game against Robert Lewandowski and Poland in Seville. A win is crucial to go into the final round with a chance for first place, while a loss for the team of Jordi Alba, Pedri and the returning Sergio Busquets could prove catastrophic for Spain.

This is a huge day of Euro 2020 action, and you can follow along with all of it. Let’s live blog!


Hungary 1-1 France

Competition/Round: UEFA Euro 2020, Group F, Matchday 2
Date/Time: Saturday, June 19, 2021, 3pm CET (Barcelona), 2pm BST/WAT (UK), 9am ET, 6am PT (USA), 6.30pm IST (India)
Venue: Puskás Arena, Budapest, Hungary
Referee: Michael Oliver (ENG)
How to watch on TV: ESPN (USA), BBC One (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), others
How to watch online: ESPN+, FuboTV (USA), BBC iPlayer (UK), others

Hungary XI: Gulácsi; Botka, Orban, Szalai; Nego, Kleinheisler, Nagy, Schäfer, Fiola; Szalai, Sallai (3-5-2)
Goal: Fiola (45+2’)

France XI: Lloris; Pavard, Varane, Kimpembe, Digne; Pogba, Kanté, Rabiot; Griezmann; Benzema, Mbappé (4-3-1-2)
Goal: Griezmann (66’)


Portugal 2-4 Germany

Competition/Round: UEFA Euro 2020, Group F, Matchday 2
Date/Time: Saturday, June 19, 2021, 6pm CET (Barcelona), 5pm BST/WAT (UK), 12pm ET, 9am PT (USA), 9.30pm IST (India)
Venue: Allianz Arena, Munich, Germany
Referee: Anthony Taylor (ENG)
How to watch on TV: ESPN (USA), ITV 1 (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), others
How to watch online: ESPN+, FuboTV (USA), ITV Hub (UK), others

Portugal XI: Patrício; Semedo, Dias, Pepe, Guerreiro; Carvalho, Danilo; Bernardo, Fernandes, Jota; Ronaldo (4-2-3-1)
Goals: Ronaldo (15’), Jota (67’)

Germany XI: Neuer; Ginter, Hummels, Rüdiger; Kimmich, Gündogan, Kroos, Gosens; Havertz, Müller; Gnabry (3-4-2-1)
Goals: Dias (OG 35’), Guerreiro (OG 39’), Havertz (51’), Gosens (60’)


Spain 1-1 Poland

Competition/Round: UEFA Euro 2020, Group E, Matchday 2
Date/Time: Saturday, June 19, 2021, 9pm CET (Barcelona), 8pm BST/WAT (UK), 3pm ET, 12pm PT (USA), 12.30am IST (India, Saturday)
Venue: Estadio de La Cartuja, Seville, Spain
Referee: Daniele Orsato (ITA)
How to watch on TV: ABC (USA), BBC One (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), others
How to watch online: ESPN+, FuboTV (USA), BBC iPlayer (UK), others

Spain XI: Simón; M. Llorente, Laporte, Pau Torres, Alba; Koke, Rodri, Pedri; Moreno, Morata, Dani Olmo (4-3-3)
Goal: Morata (25’)

Poland XI: Szczesny; Bereszynski, Glik, Bednarek; Jozwiak, Moder, Klich, Puchacz; Swiderski, Zielinski; Lewandowski (3-4-2-1)
Goal: Lewandowski (54’)


LIVE BLOG