clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Bolivia vs Argentina, Copa America 2021: Live blog, goals, highlights, updates

New, comments

Messi, Agüero and the Albiceleste finish the group stage looking to clinch first place

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Argentina v Paraguay: Group A - Copa America Brazil 2021 Photo by Pedro Vilela/Getty Images

Welcome to the Copa America group stage finale! The final two group matches take place at the same time to conclude Group A and we’ll find out the four quarterfinal matches at the end of the night.

Argentina face Bolivia in Cuiabá, knowing that they’re already locked in a top-two spot. First place in the group means Ecuador in the quarterfinals, while second place means a meeting with Colombia. It’s quite clear which matchup would be easier for the Albiceleste, so they will not take tonight for granted and will look to beat the worst team in the tournament.

But they might not need to. If Paraguay fail to beat Uruguay in the other game, Argentina will be first with a draw. But if they can’t beat Bolivia and Paraguay defeat Uruguay, then Argentina will be second. So a win is what they need to not depend on the other game and secure an easier quarterfinal opponent.

Lionel Messi and Sergio Agüero start for Lionel Scaloni’s side, and this should be a good one. Vamos!


LINEUPS

BOLIVIA

Starting XI: Lampe; Saavedra, Haquin, Jusino, Fernández; Justiniano; Chura, Vaca, Cespedes, Ibáñez; Álvarez (4-1-4-1)

Bench: Cordano (GK), Rojas (GK), Quinteros, Sagredo, Flores, Vaca, Wayar, Villarroel, Sánchez, Arce, Moreno, Ramallo

ARGENTINA

Starting XI: Armani; Montiel, Pezzella, Lisandro M., Acuña; Correa, Palacios, Rodríguez, Gómez; Messi, Agüero (4-4-2)

Bench: Marchesín (GK), Musso (GK), M. Quarta, Tagliafico, Otamendi, Paredes, De Paul, Domínguez, Lo Celso, González, Lautaro, Álvarez


MATCH INFO

Competition/Round: Copa America 2021, Group A, Matchday 4

Date/Time: Monday, June 28, 2021, 9pm local time, 2am CET (Barcelona, Tuesday), 1am BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria, Tuesday), 8pm ET, 5pm PT (USA), 5.30am IST (India, Tuesday)

Venue: Arena Pantanal, Cuiabá, Brazil

Referee: Andrés Rojas (COL)

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM COPA AMERICA 2021

How to watch on TV: Fox Sports 1 (USA), TSN 2 (Canada), BBC Red Button (UK), Canal+ Sport 3 (Nigeria), SONY TEN 2 (India), others

How to watch online: FuboTV (USA), BBC iPlayer (UK), others


LIVE BLOG