clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for preseason friendly against Gimnastic

Ronald Koeman has called up 23 players for the preseason opener

RCD Espanyol B v FC Barcelona B - Segunda Division B Photo by Pedro Salado/Quality Sport Images/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! It’s time to kick off the preparations for the 2021-22 season with a friendly against Gimnastic Tarragona at the Johan Cruyff Stadium, and Ronald Koeman has called up 23 players for the preseason opener.


Goalkeepers: Neto, Iñaki Peña, Arnau Tenas

Defenders: Gerard Piqué, Samuel Umtiti, Sergiño Dest, Santiago Ramos Mingo (CB), Arnau Comas (CB), Igor Gomes (CB), Moussa N’Diaye (CB), Alejandro Balde (LB)

Midfielders: Miralem Pjanic, Riqui Puig, Sergi Roberto, Yusuf Demir (CM), Gavi (CM), Matheus Pereira (DM)

Forwards: Álex Collado (RW), Jordi Escobar (ST), Peque Polo (ST), Rey Manaj (ST), Hiroki Abe (LW), Nils Mortimer (RW)


As expected, there are plenty of first team stars missing as most of them are still on holiday after their international commitments over the summer, which means that 14 youngsters from La Masia have been called up for this one, including 16-year-old midfielder Gavi. Barça B summer signing Yusuf Demir is also on the team, with other B-team established stars like Álex Collado, Rey Manaj and Matheus Pereira also expected to feature.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Neto; Dest, Piqué, Umtiti, Balde; Roberto, Pjanic, Puig; Collado, Manaj, Hiroki


The match kicks off at 7pm CET (Barcelona), 6pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 1pm ET, 10am PT (USA), 10.30am IST (India), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!