clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Argentina vs Ecuador, Copa America: Live blog, updates, goals, highlights

New, comments

Lionel Messi and Sergio Agüero look for a place in the semifinal

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Bolivia v Argentina: Group A - Copa America Brazil 2021 Photo by Buda Mendes/Getty Images

It’s time for the last Copa America quarterfinal! After Brazil, Peru and Uruguay/Colombia booked their tickets to the semifinal, it’s time to find out the last member of the Last Four.

Argentina and Ecuador clash in Goiânia, and after a dominant group stage the Albiceleste come into this one as the favorites, but Ecuador were the only team to take points off Brazil in this tournament and are dangerous enough to pull off the upset.

Lionel Messi starts and captains the side, and Sergio Agüero is on the bench. Vamos!


LINEUPS

ARGENTINA

Starting XI: E. Martínez; Molina, Pezzella, Otamendi, Acuña; De Paul, Paredes, Lo Celso; Messi, Lautaro, González (4-3-3)

Bench: Armani (GK), Marchesín (GK), Tagliafico, Montiel, L. Martínez, Di María, Palacios, J. Correa, Rodríguez, Gómez, Agüero, A. Correa

ECUADOR

Starting XI: Galíndez; Preciado, Hincapie, Arboleda, Estupiñán; Mena, Méndez; Franco, Gruezo, Palacios; Valencia (4-2-3-1)

Bench: Ortiz (GK), Domínguez (GK), Torres, Arreaga, Pineida, Hurtado, Noboa, Martínez, Plata, Caicedo, Campaña, Estrada


MATCH INFO

Competition/Round: Copa America 2021, Quarterfinals

Date/Time: Saturday, July 3, 2021, 10pm local time, 3am CET (Barcelona, Sunday), 2am BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria, Sunday), 9pm ET, 6pm PT (USA), 5.30am IST (India, Sunday)

Venue: Estádio Olímpico, Goiânia, Brazil

Referee: Wilton Sampaio (BRA)

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM COPA AMERICA 2021

How to watch on TV: Fox Sports 1 (USA), TSN 3 (Canada), BBC Red Button (UK), Canal+ Sport 3 (Nigeria), SONY TEN 2 (India), others

How to watch online: FuboTV (USA), BBC iPlayer (UK), others


LIVE BLOG