clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Brazil vs Peru, Copa America: Live blog, updates, goals, highlights

New, comments

It’s time for the first semifinal!

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Brazil v Ecuador: Group B - Copa America Brazil 2021 Photo by Pedro Vilela/Getty Images

It’s time for the Copa America semifinals! We are very close to a marquee matchup in the final at the Maracanã next Saturday, but first the favorites have to do their jobs in the semis.

We begin at the Engenhão in Rio, where Brazil will meet Peru for a place in the title game. Brazil have been dominant in the tournament so far, and won a tough quarterfinal against Chile despite playing the entire second half with 10 men.

Peru beat Paraguay on penalties after a thrilling 3-3 draw, and they are talented enough up front to cause Brazil problems and maybe pull off the biggest upset of the tournament.

The winner faces Argentina or Colombia in the final. This should be fun!


LINEUPS

BRAZIL

Starting XI: Ederson; Danilo, Marquinhos, T. Silva, Lodi; Fred, Casemiro; Éverton, Paquetá, Richarlison; Neymar (4-2-3-1)

Bench: Alisson (GK), Weverton (GK), Emerson, Alex Sandro, Militão, Ortiz, Fabinho, Douglas, Ribeiro, Firmino, Vinicius, Gabigol

PERU

Starting XI: Gallese; Corzo, Ramos, Santamaría, Trauco; Tapia, Yotún; Callens, Peña, Cueva; Lapadula (4-2-3-1)

Bench: Caceda (GK), Carvallo (GK), Abram, Araujo, Lopez, Lora, Tavara, Cartagena, Garcia, Valera, Iberico, Ormeno


MATCH INFO

Competition/Round: Copa America 2021, Semifinal 1

Date/Time: Monday, July 5, 2021, 8pm local time, 1am CET (Barcelona, Tuesday), 12am BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria, Tuesday), 7pm ET, 4pm PT (USA), 4.30am IST (India, Tuesday)

Venue: Estádio Nilton Santos, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Referee: Roberto Tobar (CHI)

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM COPA AMERICA 2021

How to watch on TV: Fox Sports 1 (USA), TSN 4 (Canada), BBC Red Button (UK), Canal+ Sport 3 (Nigeria), SONY TEN 4 (India), others

How to watch online: FuboTV (USA), BBC iPlayer (UK), others


LIVE BLOG