clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for Joan Gamper Trophy against Juventus

Ronald Koeman has called up 21 players for Sunday’s match

FC Barcelona v SD Eibar - La Liga Santander Photo by Alex Caparros/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The annual curtain-raiser for the season takes place today as Barça face Juventus at the Johan Cruyff Stadium in the 2021 Joan Gamper Trophy, and Ronald Koeman has called up the following 21 players for Sunday’s game:


Goalkeepers: 13. Neto, 26. Iñaki Peña

Defenders: 2. Sergiño Dest, 3. Gerard Piqué, 4. Ronald Araujo, 18. Jordi Alba, 22. Emerson Royal, 23. Samuel Umtiti, 31. Alejandro Balde

Midfielders: 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Riqui Puig, 8. Miralem Pjanic, 14. Philippe Coutinho, 20. Sergi Roberto, 27. Yusuf Demir, 28. Nico González, 32. Álex Collado

Forwards: 7. Antoine Griezmann, 9. Memphis Depay, 12. Martin Braithwaite, 29. Rey Manaj


There is an obvious, GOAT-shaped hole in the squad, but there are other players missing out for this one: Clément Lenglet (knee), Sergio Agüero (calf) and Frenkie De Jong (calf) are injured, while Óscar Mingueza, Eric García and Pedri are on vacation after Olympic duty. The big news is the return of Philippe Coutinho, who is available to play for the first time in 2021 after recovering from a knee injury.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Neto; Dest, Piqué, Araujo, Alba; Roberto, Busquets, Puig; Demir, Griezmann, Memphis


The match kicks off at 9.30pm CET (Barcelona), 8.30pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 3.30pm ET, 12.30pm PT (USA), 1am IST (India, Monday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!