clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona squad named for Champions League season opener against Bayern Munich

Ronald Koeman has called up 23 players for Tuesday’s match

Newly signed Barcelona player, Dutch forward Luuk de Jong Photo by Adria Puig/Anadolu Agency via Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana welcome Bayern Munich to Camp Nou for the opening game of this season’s Champions League group stage, and Ronald Koeman has called up the following 23 players for Tuesday’s clash:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Neto, 26. Iñaki Peña

Defenders: 2. Sergiño Dest, 3. Gerard Piqué, 4. Ronald Araujo, 15. Clément Lenglet, 18. Jordi Alba, 22. Óscar Mingueza, 23. Samuel Umtiti, 24. Eric García, 31. Alejandro Balde

Midfielders: 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Riqui Puig, 11. Yusuf Demir, 14. Philippe Coutinho, 16. Pedri, 20. Sergi Roberto, 21. Frenkie De Jong, 28. Nico González, 30. Gavi

Forwards: 9. Memphis Depay, 17. Luuk De Jong


Despite the long international break and not having to play at the weekend, Barça still come into this one with big team selection issues: Martin Braithwaite injured his knee in training and will undergo surgery that will sideline him for a while, and he joins Ousmane Dembélé (knee) and Sergio Agüero (calf) on the injured list. Ansu Fati (knee) is not yet fit to return, but there is some good news as both Sergiño Dest and Jordi Alba recovered in time from injuries suffered in national team duty and can play tonight.

Predicted starting XI (3-5-2):

Ter Stegen; Araujo, Piqué, Lenglet; Dest, De Jong, Busquets, Pedri, Alba; L. De Jong, Memphis


The match kicks off at 9pm CET (Barcelona), 8pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 3pm ET, 12pm PT (USA), 12.30am IST (India, Wednesday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!