clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for Champions League match against Benfica

Ronald Koeman has called up 22 players for Wednesday’s game

FC Barcelona v Real Sociedad - La Liga Santander Photo by David S. Bustamante/Soccrates/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana travel to Lisbon for their second Champions League group stage game against Benfica, and Ronald Koeman has called up the following 22 players for Wednesday’s clash:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Neto, 26. Iñaki Peña

Defenders: 2. Sergiño Dest, 3. Gerard Piqué, 4. Ronald Araujo, 15. Clément Lenglet, 22. Óscar Mingueza, 23. Samuel Umtiti, 24. Eric García

Midfielders: 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Riqui Puig, 11. Yusuf Demir, 14. Philippe Coutinho, 16. Pedri, 20. Sergi Roberto, 21. Frenkie De Jong, 28. Nico González, 30. Gavi

Forwards: 9. Memphis Depay, 10. Ansu Fati, 17. Luuk De Jong


There’s some good news for this one as Pedri is cleared to play after missing two weeks with a thigh problem, and Frenkie De Jong returns from a suspension at the weekend. Jordi Alba has not recovered in time from a hamstring issue and misses this one, with Martin Braithwaite (knee), Ousmane Dembélé (knee), Alejandro Balde (back) and Sergio Agüero (calf) also out because of injury.

Predicted starting XI (4-2-3-1):

Ter Stegen; Mingueza, Piqué, Araujo, Dest; F. De Jong, Busquets; Gavi, Coutinho, Memphis; L. De Jong


The match kicks off at 9pm CET (Barcelona), 8pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeira), 3pm ET, 12pm PT (USA), 12.30am IST (India, Thursday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!