clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for Women’s Champions League quarterfinal 1st leg against Real Madrid

Jonatan Giraldez has called up 19 players for the trip to Madrid

FC Barcelona V Madrid CFF - La Liga Iberdrola Photo by Xavier Bonilla/NurPhoto via Getty Images

The next Barcelona Femení match is upon us! The Blaugrana ladies are in the Spanish capital for the much anticipated first leg of the Women’s Champions League quarterfinal first leg against Real Madrid, and manager Jonatan Giráldez has called up the following 19 players for Tuesday’s game:


Goalkeepers: 1. Sandra Paños, 24. Gemma Font, 30. Meritxell Muñoz

Defenders: 2. Irene Paredes, 4. Mapi León, 5. Melanie Serrano, 8. Marta Torrejón, 15. Leila Ouahabi, 17. Andrea Pereira

Midfielders: 6. Claudia Pina, 11. Alexia Putellas, 12. Patri Guijarro, 14. Aitana Bonmatí, 23. Ingrid Engen, 29. María Pérez

Forwards: 7. Caroline Graham Hansen, 10. Jenni Hermoso, 16. Fridolina Rolfö, 33. Ona Baradad


There is some very good news for Giráldez with the return of superstar center-back Irene Paredes, who is back after missing the last four weeks with a hamstring injury. Paredes gives a huge boost to the Barça defense, but the team is still missing several key players through injury: goalkeeper Cata Coll, defender Jana Fernández and striker Bruna Vilamala are all out for the season with knee injuries; Mariona Caldentey and Asisat Oshoala won’t be back until May with hamstring issues, while Ana-Maria Crnogorcevic (calf) and Lieke Martens (thigh) have a chance to return for the second leg next week.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Paños; Marta, Pereira, Mapi, Leila; Hermoso, Patri, Alexia; Graham, Rolfö, Aitana


The match kicks off at 9pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 8pm GMT (UK), 4pm ET, 1pm PT (USA), 1.30am IST (India, Wednesday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA FEMENÍ!