clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for Spanish Super Cup Final against Real Madrid

Xavi Hernández has called up 23 players for Sunday’s clash

FC Barcelona v UD Almeria - LaLiga EA Sports Photo by Eric Alonso/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana are in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia for the Spanish Super Cup Final against Real Madrid, and Xavi Hernández has called up the following 23 players for Sunday’s El Clásico:


Goalkeepers: 13. Iñaki Peña, 26. Ander Astralaga, 31. Diego Kochen

Defenders: 2. João Cancelo*, 3. Alejandro Balde, 4. Ronald Araujo, 15. Andreas Christensen, 23. Jules Kounde, 33. Pau Cubarsí, 39. Héctor Fort

Midfielders: 8. Pedri, 18. Oriol Romeu, 20. Sergi Roberto, 21. Frenkie de Jong, 22. Ilkay Gündogan, 30. Marc Casadó, 32. Fermín López

Forwards: 7. Ferran Torres, 9. Robert Lewandowski, 14. João Félix, 19. Vitor Roque, 27. Lamine Yamal, 38. Marc Guiu

*Not yet medically cleared


Xavi lost yet another player to injury in Thursday’s semi-final win against Osasuna as Raphinha suffered a hamstring injury and is ruled out for the next month or so, and he joins Iñigo Martínez (hamstring), Marc-André ter Stegen (back), Marcos Alonso (back) and Gavi (knee) as long-term absences. João Cancelo is the only doubt for this match but it sounds like the Portuguese full-back will not be medically cleared in time, so the 22 remaining available players will form the final squad for the game.

Predicted starting XI (4-4-2):

Peña; Kounde, Araujo, Christensen, Balde; Roberto, Gündogan, De Jong, Pedri; Ferran, Lewandowski


The match kicks off at 10pm AST (local time), 8pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 7pm GMT (UK), 2pm ET, 11am PT (USA), 12.30am IST (India, Monday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Barca Blaugranes Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Barca news from Barca Blaugranes