clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Las Palmas

Xavi Hernández has called up 21 players for Thursday’s clash

FC Barcelona Training Session Photo by Alex Caparros/Getty Images

The next Barcelona maatch is upon us! The Blaugrana begin the new year with a tough La Liga game away to Las Palmas, and Xavi Hernández has called up the following 21 players for Thursday’s clash:


Goalkeepers: 13. Iñaki Peña, 26. Ander Astralaga, 31. Diego Kochen

Defenders: 2. João Cancelo, 3. Alejandro Balde, 4. Ronald Araujo, 15. Andreas Christensen, 23. Jules Kounde, 33. Pau Cubarsí, 39. Héctor Fort

Midfielders: 18. Oriol Romeu, 20. Sergi Roberto, 21. Frenkie de Jong, 22. Ilkay Gündogan, 32. Fermín López

Forwards: 7. Ferran Torres, 9. Robert Lewandowski, 11. Raphinha, 14. João Félix, 19. Vitor Roque, 27. Lamine Yamal


The big news for this one is that Brazilian striker Vitor Roque is available to make his debut after having his registration completed in time to make the trip to the Canary Islands. Another boost to the squad is the return of Frenkie de Jong from suspension, but Barça will still be missing a few players as Iñigo Martínez (hamstring), Pedri (hamstring), Marcos Alonso (back), Marc-André ter Stegen (back) and Gavi (knee) are all out due to injury.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Peña; Cancelo, Araujo, Kounde, Balde; Roberto, De Jong, Gündogan; Raphinha, Lewandowski, Ferran


The match kicks off at 9.30pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 8.30pm GMT (UK), 3.30pm ET, 12.30pm PT (USA), 2am IST (India, Friday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Barca Blaugranes Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Barca news from Barca Blaugranes