clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

When is the Copa del Rey draw and who could Barcelona face?

Quique Setien’s side beat Ibiza to progress

UD Ibiza v FC Barcelona - Copa del Rey: Round of 32 Photo by Quality Sport Images/Getty Images

Barcelona will discover who they will play in the next round of the Copa del Rey on Friday when the draw for the last 16 is made.

Quique Setien’s side beat Ibiza 2-1 on Wednesday to progress and now face another single-legged tie on either January 28, 29 or 30.

The new Copa del Rey format means if Barca draw an opponent from a lower league the game will be played away from home. If they face a La Liga club, the home team will be the ball that is drawn first.

The draw takes place at 1pm CET (12pm GMT, 7am ET) on Friday, January 24. You can stream it live via the RFEF’s website or via their social media channels: Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.

Here’s a look at who wil join Barcelona in the draw:

Real Madrid, Real Zaragoza, Osasuna, Sevilla, Athletic Club, Villarreal, Real Sociedad, Valencia, Tenerife, Granada, Leganes, Mirandes, CD Badajoz, Cultural Leonesa, Rayo Vallecano.

There were a few upsets in the competition on Thursday night ahead of the draw.

Atletico were dumped out by Cultural Leonesa 2-1 after extra-time, Mirandes knocked out Eibar and Vallecano beat Real Betis on penalties.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Barca Blaugranes Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Barca news from Barca Blaugranes