clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

El Clasico: Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Real Madrid

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players for the biggest match of the season

FC Barcelona v Olympiakos Piraeus - UEFA Champions League Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana visit the Santiago Bernabéu for the biggest game of the season against Real Madrid, and Ernesto Valverde has called up 18 players for El Clasico.

This is the full squad:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 14. Javier Mascherano, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 20. Sergi Roberto, 25. Thomas Vermaelen

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 8. Andrés Iniesta, 15. Paulinho Bezerra, 21. André Gomes, 22. Aleix Vidal

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi


The injuries are slowly going away, but three key players are not available because of physical problems: Samuel Umtiti, Ousmane Dembélé and Paco Alcácer will miss this one, and Valverde has opted not to include Gerard Deulofeu, Rafinha Alcântara and Arda Turan in the list.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-1-2):

Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Vermaelen, Alba; Rakitic, Busquets, Iniesta; Paulinho; Messi, Suárez


The match kicks off at 1pm CET/WAT (Spain & Nigeria), 12pm GMT (UK), 7am ET, 4am PT (USA), 5:30pm IST (India), and you can joi us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!