clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for Round 25 of La Liga against Sporting Gijón

New, comments

Mascherano returns!

FC Barcelona v Malaga CF - La Liga Photo by Manuel Queimadelos Alonso/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana continue their chase for the La Liga title with a home match at Camp Nou against Sporting Gijón, and coach Luis Enrique has called up 18 players to be in uniform.

This is the squad in full:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 3. Gerard Piqué, 14. Javier Mascherano, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 20. Sergi Roberto, 23. Samuel Umtiti

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 8. Andrés Iniesta, 12. Rafinha Alcântara, 21. André Gomes

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Neymar Jr, 17. Paco Alcácer


The good news is the return of Javier Mascherano, who is fully recovered from a hamstring injury and will likely play a part against Gijón. Mascherano replaces Jérémy Mathieu, out for a few weeks with an ankle injury. Aleix Vidal is out for the season, while Arda Turan misses out with a groin problem. Jordi Masip is out per technical decision.

*******

Projected starting lineup (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Gomes, Busquets, Denis; Messi, Suárez, Neymar


The match kicks off on Wednesday at 7:30PM CET / 6:30PM GMT (UK) / 1:30PM EST, 10:30AM PST (USA), 12AM IST (India, Thursday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!