clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for El Clásico 2017 against Real Madrid

New, comments

Arda returns!

Real Betis Balompie v FC Barcelona - La Liga Photo by Aitor Alcalde/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana play their biggest match of the season at the Santiago Bernabéu against Real Madrid, and coach Luis Enrique has called up 19 players for El Clásico.

This is the squad in full:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 3. Gerard Piqué, 14. Javier Mascherano, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 20. Sergi Roberto, 22. Aleix Vidal, 23. Samuel Umtiti

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 7. Arda Turan, 8. Andrés Iniesta, 21. André Gomes, 28. Carles Aleñá

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 17. Paco Alcácer


There is good and bad news regarding this squad: Arda Turan is back from his injury and will be on the bench, but Neymar is indeed suspended and will not travel with the team. Aleix Vidal is a surprise inclusion, but the full-back is only travelling to support his teammates and is not even close to a return. Rafinha and Mathieu miss out through injury, Jordi Masip is left out by Lucho.

*********

Predicted starting lineup (3-5-2):

Ter Stegen; Mascherano, Piqué, Umtiti; Roberto, Rakitic, Busquets, Iniesta, Alba; Messi, Suárez


The match kicks off this Sunday at 8:45pm CET / 7:45pm BST (UK) / 2:45pm ET, 11:45am PT (USA) / 12:15am IST (India, Monday), and you can join us to follow and comment the biggest game of the season.

VISCA EL BARÇA! GANAREMOS EL CLÁSICO!