clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for La Liga match against Espanyol

NEYMAR RETURNS!!!

FC Barcelona v Juventus - UEFA Champions League Quarter Final: Second Leg Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana are back in La Liga action and they face a crucial Catalan Derby against Espanyol away from home, and coach Luis Enrique has called up 18 players to be in uniform.

This is the squad in full:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 3. Gerard Piqué, 14. Javier Mascherano, 18. Jordi Alba, 19. Lucas Digne, 20. Sergi Roberto, 23. Samuel Umtiti

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Denis Suarez, 7. Arda Turan, 21. André Gomes, 28. Carles Ale’ñá

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Neymar Jr., 17. Paco Alcácer


The great news is the return of Neymar, who has served his three-game ban and is right back into the starting lineup for a crucial game. The bad news is that Andrés Iniesta misses out through a minor muscle problem, but should be back in training next week. Aleix Vidal, Rafinha Alcântara and Jérémy Mathieu miss out through injury as well, while Jordi Masip is left out per Lucho's decision.

********

Predicted starting lineup (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Rakitic, Busquets, Gomes; Messi, Suárez, Neymar


The match kicks off on Saturday at 8:45pm CET / 7:45pm BST (UK) / 2:45pm ET, 11:45am PT (USA) / 12:15am IST (India, Sunday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!