clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Barcelona 5-1 Villarreal: Ousmane Dembele seals win for the hosts

New, comments

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Barcelona v Villarreal - La Liga Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

FULL TIME! Barcelona 5-1 Villarreal: It’s all over and the champions cruise to a victory, Ousmane Dembele shows us what he is all about and life is good.


GOAL! Barcelona 5-1 Villarreal (Dembele, 93): DEMBELE!! What. A. Goal! The youngster wraps up the game with a brilliant goal. He picks up possession in his own half goes past several defenders before dinking it over the goalkeeper.


GOAL! Barcelona 4-1 Villarreal (Dembele, 87): And it’s four! Ivan Rakitic runs, and runs, and runs and keeps going. He then squares it across goal for Dembele to tap home.


GOAL! Barcelona 3-1 Villarreal (Sansone, 54): Villarreal get one back and it’s a real scuffy effort. Fornals shoots and it takes a big deflection off Sansone to fly past Cillessen. He’s not impressed at all.


GOAL! Barcelona 3-0 Villarreal (Messi, 45): Messi and Iniesta produce yet another moment of magic and it’s 3-0. And that really should be that. Amazing stuff.


GOAL! Barcelona 2-0 Villarreal (Paulinho, 16): Great goal Barca! This is a lovely goal as Andres Iniesta slides a gorgeous pass into Lucas Digne. The left-back then slides it across the box for Paulinho to tap home.


GOAL! Barcelona 1-0 Villarreal (Coutinho, 11’): Coutinhooooo! The Brazilian opens the scoring but this goal is ALL about Ousmane Dembele. He races forward and curls in a shot which Asenjo can only parry into the path of Coutinho.


KICKOFF! Barcelona 0-0 Villarreal: Come on Barcelona! Let’s DO this.


Guard of honour time! Villarreal show everyone how it’s done. Nice job.

LINEUPS

BARCELONA

Starting XI: Cillessen; Semedo, Piqué, Vermaelen, Digne; Iniesta (Suarez), Paulinho, Busquets (Rakitic); Coutinho, Messi, Dembélé

Subs: Ter Stegen, Rakitic, Suárez, Alcácer, Alba, Gomes, Yerry Mina

VILLARREAL

Starting XI: Asenjo, Mario, Álvaro, Víctor Ruiz, Costa, Rodri, Castillejo, Fornals, Trigueros, Cheryshev, Bacca

Lineups: Andres Fernandez, Adrian Marin, Enes Unal, Sansone, Javi Fuego, Bonera Raba


Oo look Ernesto Valverde does know how to rotate, who knew eh? Lots of changes for Barcelona then which is exciting. Can they continue their unbeaten streak? Find out right here because all the action is coming right up!


MATCH INFO

Competition/Round: 2017-18 La Liga, Matchday 34 (rescheduled)

Barcelona team news: Sergi Roberto (out, suspension)

Villarreal team news: Bruno Soriano, Ramiro Guerra (out, injury), Antonio Rukavina (out, suspension)

Date/Time: Wednesday, May 9th, 2018, 8pm CET (Barcelona), 7pm GMT/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 2pm EST, 11am PST (USA), 11.30pm IST (India)

Venue: Camp Nou, Barcelona, Catalonia

Referee: José María Sánchez Martínez

How to watch on TV: beIN SPORTS (USA & Canada), Sky Sports Mix (UK), SuperSport 7 (Nigeria), SONY TEN 2 (India), others

How to stream: beIN SPORTS CONNECT (USA & Canada), Sky GO (UK), FuboTV (7-day free trial, click here to sign up)


Matchday Thread Rules

We don’t have a lot of rules here, but there are a few things to keep in mind when joining our matchday threads:

Even if the referee sucks or we lose the game, no swearing. It’s just unnecessary. Also, don’t discuss illegal streaming links. Those who do will be warned, and those who post links will be banned. Finally, be nice to each other. This is a Barcelona community and we don’t need to offend one another.

Have fun with the game! VISCA EL BARÇA!